MY TOP 5 STONER FLICKS

Let’s be clear about one thing… while I enjoy the occasional (Okay, frequent!) alcoholic beverage, I haven’t done any drug of any kind in many a moon. It did happen though. In case I decide to run for public office some day, I should state for the record: I didn’t exhale… for a long time… and it was more of a huge cough than an exhale. Now that that’s clear, here’s my Top 5 Stoner Flicks that make me reminiscent of the days spent with my Buds:

5. HAROLD & KUMAR GO TO WHITE CASTLE.

This film answers the ancient stoner question: How good does White Castle sound right now? This film is chock-full of laughs and features one of my favorite cameos. That being Neal Patrick Harris as a drugged out, womanizing, thief with an ego. Did I mention he plays himself?

4. FRIDAY.

It’s Friday. You ain’t got no job. Why not check out this dandy of a film about life in the hood… on weed!

3. GRANDMA’S BOY.

I know I’m going to take shit for having this film on my list and not having Half Baked but what do you want me do? It’s my Top 5 and I think Grandma’s Boy is not only a great stoner flick but one of the best little comedies you’ve never heard of floating around out there. It stars all those guys from those Adam Sandler movies, whose names you’d never know, and is one of the few films that makes me laugh every time I watch it!

2. DAZED & CONFUSED.

Dazed is not only a great stoner flick but one of my favorite movies of all time. A great ensemble piece set on the last day of school in 1976. I watched this movie everyday after school for nearly 6 months when I was in high school and it still manages to suck me in every time nearly 15 years later.

1. UP IN SMOKE.

Truth be told, I was SUPER-HIGH the first time I saw this film. So much so that a friend thought it would be funny to feed me dog treats and tell me they were beef jerky. To this day, that was the best beef jerky I’ve ever had! I still crack up every time I watch this film. Admittedly, it loses a bit of steam towards the end of the film but the scene where Cheech and Chong get pulled over in a parked car is still one of the funniest things I’ve ever seen… on weed or not!

What about you? What are some of your favs?

5 Responses to “MY TOP 5 STONER FLICKS”

  1. Shame on you for not including Half-Baked (I am not a fish!), but props for including Grandma’s Boy. I always enjoy trying to spot Sandler’s ensemble cast members in his movies, like a modern day Where’s Waldo. Quick question for you Kai, what role did our stoner video-game hero play in Happy Gilmore?

  2. Grandma’s Boy is f’n hilarious, and is a must on lists like these. I would’ve included Half Baked as well, but oh well.

    Wizard of Oz maybe? 🙂

  3. Up in Smoke and Dazed and Confused are the only two on the list I have seen, but what a pair! Dazed and confused is one of my favourite movies, I can watch it any time, any mood and always feel better than before I started watching it, that’s why it made it to my desert island list ahead of Fandango.

    Not exactly a stoner movie but great stoner scene: Bill Murray and Chevy Chase in Caddyshack.

  4. Okay, you’ve redeemed yourself a bit by professing your love for Dazed.

    My top 3: Dazed, Friday, Half Baked. I don’t even remember if I’ve seen Up In Smoke. Pretty sure it’s a yes, but pretty sure I was also high, and therefore don’t remember a damn thing. After all that…whatever. H & K was decent but a letdown for me. Hell, I’d rather watch Dude, Where’s My Car?

Leave a comment