TOP 5 MOVIES: DELROY LINDO

You know the drill by now, folks. You can go anywhere to find a Top 5 list for the likes of Brad Pitt and George Clooney. We here at THE LIST like to focus on the other guys. Today’s list is dedicated to my MILFcast co-host (Heather Roddy) who has an unhealthy obsession with Delroy Lindo. Apparently, at some point, he ate her cookies. While that isn’t a sexual innuendo, I don’t think it’s meant to be taken literally either. Quite honestly, I have no idea what it means. What I do know is that these are his Top 5 films:

HONORABLE MENTION: GET SHORTY.

You can’t make a Delroy Lindo list and not mention Get Shorty (the film for which he is likely most often associated with). I recognize that the film is pretty darn good but, unfortunately, I’ve never really been a fan so the best I can do here is mention it. A for effort!

5. THE CORE.

NO GET SHORTY BUT THE CORE IS ON YOUR LIST? Yup! I’m not going to pretend that The Core is a good movie but I’m also not going to pretend that I don’t watch it every time it comes on TV. There’s something to be said for that. I love a good disaster movie and this Armageddon (to the center of the Earth) rip-off is solid cheesy disaster fun!

4. THE CIDER HOUSE RULES.

To be honest, I haven’t seen this film in forever. It’s been so long that I don’t even remember Delroy being in it! However, I remember loving the film when I did see it so it’s going on THE LIST. I can do this… it’s my blog!

3. RANSOM.

Remember the good old days when Mel Gibson made good flicks? Ransom is a solid effort and an entertaining film from Ron Howard. Also happens to be another one of those films that sucks me in whenever it’s on cable. This is my “go to” film when it comes to Lindo. He tends to play this type of character a lot.

2. THE ONE.

Another example of a guilty pleasure of sorts. It’s one of my favorite Jet Li films. Unfortunately, it suffers from being a great premise that ends up being watered down in its execution. It’s also got some very unflattering CGI. Still, it’s a hell of a fun action flick based on one heck of a cool idea.

1. UP.

SQUIRREL! It’s hard not to like Pixar films… unless they’re titled Cars. Up is a mature turn for the young company that I don’t think it gets enough credit for. While it’s not one of my favorite Pixar films, it’s an interesting study in storytelling within the confines of an animated film made primarily for kids. It features an old man as it’s protagonist and finds a way to tell some dark storylines (the first 15 minutes is just plain depressing) and still manages to keep you engaged and interested. A solid flick.

Here’s something I never thought I’d say (er… type): So, what are your favorite Delroy Lindo films? 🙂

9 Responses to “TOP 5 MOVIES: DELROY LINDO”

  1. First things first: BIG props for recognizing the awesomeness of Delroy Lindo. He’s very close to the top of my own internal list of Great Actors Who Should Get More Recognition.

    As for this list… I dunno. GET SHORTY is quintesential Delroy. You don’t have to like the film all that much (what!) to see how great he is in it: A credible advarsary for Chili, smart and dangerous without being like a cartoon villain, with his own reality-based motivations. Put another way: It’s a credit to Mr. Lindo that he’s one of the more memorable aspects of GET SHORTY and that it’s NOT because of his wardrobe.

    On the other end of the scale… Yes, UP is a brilliant film, easily the best overall film on your list. But to say that UP is a “Delroy Lindo film”? Only if you think of THE INCREDIBLES starring Wallace Shawn or MEGAMIND starring Ben Stiller. You can’t even call his role a cameo. Sure, his character had a name, but it might as well have been “Bad Dog #2.”

    • OK… I will rewatch Get Shorty and give it another chance.
      As far as Up, when I do these, I typically omit films where the subject has a smaller role but decided to count it in this case. What can I say? I have the power! 😉

  2. Get Shorty is one of my favorite comedies in the universe and Delroy Lindo is a bad mutha shut yo mouth in it. I also dug him in Michael Bay’s Gone In Sixty Seconds. However, I’m so in happy with the mere fact that you made this list I don’t even feel right criticizing it in any way.

    He also had a small part in The Devils Advocate that was bad ass, but one of my favorites is in my horrible guilty pleasure: CONGO-Amy jungle, amy good gorilla.

    As my Liam says: I HATE SQUIRRELS!

    • I have no idea why, but I love Congo. I think it might have to do with my undying obsession of everything Laura Linney, but that movie had absolutely no business being that entertaining.

    • I’m with you, Heather. Not a fan of Get Shorty? You’re killing me, Kai. Next, you’re gonna say you didn’t enjoy watching Out of Sight tonight. We might not be able to be friends, after all.

      In other words, it’s Get Shorty at number one…and whatever at 2-5. I love me some Lindo, but that’s the one that comes to mind quickest.

  3. I think you need to call this the Delroy List “o”

  4. I know I’m not supposed to like it for some odd reason, but I’ve always liked Gone in 60 Seconds, so that’d probably be in my Top 5 somewhere, along with The One, The Core, Up, and Congo.

Leave a Reply

