I’M A MARVEL

Our buddy Katie over at THE STORIES THAT REALLY MATTERED came up with a great MEME for her fellow Fanboy bloggers. The idea is simple: Which do you prefer? Marvel or DC Comics? Obviously, I’m a Marvel. Here’s my Top 5 reasons why:

5. STAN THE MAN.

DC loses for not having a Stan Lee. The man who started Marvel makes you want to read his comics with his enthusiasm alone. He is, not only an icon but, a bit of a character himself and his charm and enthusiasm are just so contagious.

4. BEST CHARACTERS.

Honestly, with the exception of Batman, I’ve never been a fan of the big DC characters. Whereas, I love just about everyone running around the Marvel universe. I think that’s mainly due to the fact that DC characters always seemed (Batman excluded) other-worldly and inaccessible. The Marvel characters were always so human… be it Iron Man’s drinking problem or Peter Parker’s inability to be as cool as his alter ego. Somehow, Marvel always makes the man inside the costume as interesting as the stuff they do with them on.

3. HOTTER CHICKS.

Don’t get me wrong! It’s not like I haven’t had a few Wonder Woman fantasies in my day. Linda Carter knows what I’m talkin’ about. However, the girls of the Marvel universe just take the cake. Mary Jane Parker? I like the sound of that!

2. MARVEL vs. DC.

Many of you probably don’t know (or remember) this but in the 90’s, Marvel and DC did a crossover comic where the 2 worlds collided. The fans voted on who would win the major battles and you know what? Marvel came out on top… because they are better.

1. WHAT’S MY NAME?

I couldn’t go around calling myself your friendly neighborhood Kaiderman and then be a DC, could I?

18 Responses to “I’M A MARVEL”

  1. You speak the truth, Kai! Although I find myself drawn to DC graphic novels because of the iconic nature of the characters. Grant Morrison has done some great work with DC material, but Mark Millar has worked wonders with Marvel’s roster.

    • True, DC has some great graphics (see my comment below)… but Marvel has some greats too. One of my favs is Punisher Kills the Marvel Universe. YOU HAVE TO READ THAT! He kills everybody, good and bad. Seek it out!!!

  2. WOO Welcome to the party! I agree with all your reasons, especially number 4.

  3. Linda carter knows what im talkin about.. Thats the funniest thing ill read all day. And ive just woken up

  4. Yes, yes, yes. All well and good, but DC would still win in a fight, despite what the fanboys say. All DC has to do is call up Dr. Manhattan. All he has to do is blink. POW!! Instant! Marvel! Smoothie!

    Although, I am with you. Marvel is better, for the exact same reasons you said.

  5. Let’s face it, 90% of people would say Marvel!!! Nothing original about that 😉

  6. When it comes to the long standing debate, Marvel vs. DC, I take pride in the fact that I honestly couldn’t give a shit (pardon the french). 🙂

  7. Fuck, now I totally gotta do this. Putting it up on Sunday. You won’t like it, but it’s gettin’ done, Kaiderman.

  8. Editor In Chief Says:

    This statue is making me finally understand your reasons for marrying a redhead and your fascination with me doing your laundry..hmmm?!

  9. Me too. Never really cared for Superman or Batman.

    • Let’s be clear… Batman’s the shit!
      Agreed otherwise!!! 🙂

      • No I’m with Addicted on this one. Batman is OK but he’s never really got me going (so to speak).

      • I’m with Kai. These guys are as OG as you can get – and Grant Morrison’s latest run on the death and return of Batman is the shiznit. Besides, nobody has a movie legacy than can compare to theirs (aside from the clear structural similarity the Superman franchise shares with the Spider-Man franchise, but that’s a story for another time.)

  10. Hey everyone!

    Even if you’re not writing a post of your own, I’d love it if you’d vote in my poll so we can settle this once and for all!

    So…which are you?
    (polls)

Leave a Reply

