MY TOP 10 MOST ANTICIPATED FILMS OF 2011

Are these the best films that will come of 2011? Time will tell but most likely not! Still, these are the films I’m jonesing to see in the year to come. I fear this sentiment will be destroyed by the execution of these films when they hit theaters but, for now, here’s what’s got me excited (in order):

10. PIRATES OF THE CARRIBEAN: ON STRANGER TIDES (May 20).

So, the last 2 films sucked but Black Pearl was a great movie and Jack Sparrow is one of the greatest characters in movie history. Let’s hope now that the old story line is done, they’ll get back to their roots.

9. PARANORMAL ACTIVITY 3 (October 21).

I can’t help it… I love these films. They manage to freak me out every time. For the past 2 years, they’ve made my Top 10 of the year lists and, until they let me down, I’m going to keep getting excited for more.

8. THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO (December 21).

The Swedish films were very good but they weren’t great. Here’s hoping Fincher can make them better. Lord knows he’s not the type to shy away from the subject matter. Fingers crossed.

7. COWBOYS & ALIENS (July 29).

Jon Favreau has yet to make a bad film. And, based on the preview for this one, it looks like he’s going to keep his streak alive. It may also be Harrison Ford’s return to bad-assery. What’s not to like?

6. THOR (May 6).

In full disclosure, Thor was always my least favorite Avenger. However, with every bit of footage being released, I find myself getting more and more excited about this film. My only concern is that the other comic book films have succeeded by taking these extraordinary characters and grounding them in reality. However, Thor introduces an other wordly element that may feel strange amongst the other story lines. Hopefully, they get it right.

5. SUPER 8 (June 10).

JJ Abrams is the hottest working director in Hollywood right now. He may very well be the 2nd coming of Steven Speilberg. So, to see him get back to Sci-Fi just gets me plain ol’ turned on. The teaser for this is amazing and I can’t wait.

4. X-MEN: FIRST CLASS (June 3).

After breathing fresh air into the comic book genre with last year’s Kick-Ass, Matthew Vaughn has been brought in to breathe life into the X-Men franchise by telling it’s origin. The casting for this looks great and Vaughn can make a nice film so this one has got me amped.

3. SUCKER PUNCH! (March 25).

After delivering satisfyin0g takes on Fanboy favorites like Dawn of the Dead, 300 and Watchmen, Zack Snyder is back with an original screenplay and film that looks like pure eye candy. Zack Snyder is the only director who leaves me wishing there was more CGI on screen… and Sucker Punch looks like one hell of a good time at the movies.

2. THE ADJUSTMENT BEREAU (March 4).

Simply put, I think Phillip K. Dick might be the most brilliant person to ever write fiction and touch the Sci-Fi genre. His ideas and concepts alone are so interesting and smart that you can’t help but get sucked in. When they’re adapted to film, they can be bad (Paycheck). But when they’re done well (Total Recall, Minority Report), they’re great! Let’s hope this one is more the latter than the former!

1. CAPTAIN AMERICA: THE FIRST AVENGER (July 22).

What can I say? I’m a comic book nerd at heart. And nothing has me more excited than the 2012 Avengers movie. However, for that to work, alot rides on this film. Not only does it need to keep us interested in the franchise but it needs to set up Steve Rogers (aka: Cap) as the leader of the Superhero All Star Team. Things look good so far and I can’t wait!

So… what are you excited to see in 2011?

12 Responses to “MY TOP 10 MOST ANTICIPATED FILMS OF 2011”

  1. Great list, I know I’m excited for most of these!

  2. Great list! I’m a little apprehensive of The Adjustment Bureau; I thought the trailers looked rubbish. Still, you’re right about Phillip K. Dick, so I hope to be proven wrong

  3. man thats a crummy list. Adjustment Bureau at 2! really? of those id say the only ones that get me going are Cowboys and Aliens, Xmen and maybe Dragon Tattoo, just to see what fincher does with it. the rest of that is fodder. Capt America: The First Avenger Of The Avengers Which Is A Movie About Avengers Coming Out Next Year You Should See… come on.

  4. Where the fuck is Harry Potter? 😛

    Also, I so didn’t know Adjustment Bureau was PKD. That bumps it up quite a bit on my list.

    And I thought Sucker Punch was a graphic novel… it’s original? Even better!

  5. Bruce Wayne Says:

    I”ll see anything based on PKD. I just heard the Ridley Scott is going to take on PKD again with a BBC miniseries — The Man In The High Castle. Possibly PKD’s best novel.

  6. If it weren’t for Adjustment and Dragon Tat, I might mistake this list for that of a 12-year old’s. Then again, you have a garage-full of action figures in their cases, so…I’m not exactly sure what my point is.

  7. I’m not bothered about the new Pirates of the Carribean or the next Paranormal Activity but the others definitely peak my interest. My most anticipated movie has to be the final chapter for Harry Potter.

Leave a Reply

