MY TOP 10 CHRISTMAS MOVIES

If you’re looking for classics, then you’ve just plain ol’ come to the wrong blog. However, I’ve got what I think is the must see list of films for this holiday season. So, in honor of tomorrow’s holiday, here are my Top 10 Christmas Movies (in order):

10. How the Grinch Stole Christmas.

I don’t know how much people like Ron Howard’s live action adaptation of this Dr. Seuss classic but I loves it. Most of that love is due to Jim Carrey’s performance as the Grinch which is a role that totally suits his personality. A personality that shines through even through all of that make-up.

9. Black Christmas.

If you didn’t think I was going to put some horror up here, well, you just don’t know me at all. While Silent Night, Deadly Night is great, I’m a fan of good old Black Christmas. Both versions are great but I even kind of prefer the horrible remake… mainly because the girls are just hotter!

8. Love Actually.

This made my recent list of FILMS THAT REVOLVE AROUND HOLIDAYS (and don’t really need to). However, the holiday is so prevalent in the film that it really does set the mood for the season. Not to mention I think it’s one of the best RomComs ever made!

7. Elf.

Jon Favreau doesn’t make bad films. Will Ferrell does from time to time. Luckily for Favreau, this isn’t one of them. Elf is one of those rare modern films that became an instant X-mas classic and features Ferrell at his Ferrellest!

6. Home Alone.

This is one of those X-mas movies that my family actually went out and saw on X-mas day when I was a kid. It was enjoyable then and remains so even now that I watch through the eyes of a parent. The film has a bit of cheesiness to it but it’s hard not to fall for Kevin and the whole McCallister clan. Not to mention, that the ending with Joe Pesci and Daniel Stern is still a ton of fun to watch.

5. Bad Santa.

You don’t have to be all “Bah-Humbug” to like Bad Santa but if you are this film was made for you! Totally hilarious to watch and arguably the role Billy Bob Thorton was born to play. Throw it in to get yourself ready for the sequel which is in the works right now!

4. Die Hard. 

My buddies over at The Film Cynics will love this one. Another entry in my FILMS THAT REVOLVE AROUND HOLIDAYS (and don’t really need to), this one is technically not an X-mas movie… unless you’re a dude, that is. This is the film I want to see every December.

3. Scrooged.

God, I love Scrooged. Like I said, I’m not a fan of the classics. However, this modern day adaptation of the classic Scrooge is right up my alley. Especially because it plays strongly to everything that makes Bill Murray so awesome.

2. Christmas Vacation.

This one’s simple… one of the best threequels of all time. The Grizzwold family is back, along with Cousin Eddie and clan, and are just as great to watch as they were when they went to Wallyworld. Thank God because that whole European detour had us all a bit worried.

1. A Christmas Story.

This movie is the best. While it is still satire, I think this film so wraps up what the true family X-mas is like. It’s funny, touching and uber-qoutable. I only watch it once a year. However, TBS shows it on a loop for 24 hours every year and I end up watching 2 or 3 times that day. The best thing is you can come in at any part and it’ll no doubt be a great one. Hands down my #1!

What about you???

6 Responses to “MY TOP 10 CHRISTMAS MOVIES”

  1. Editor In Chief Says:

    Kudos for Love Actually…I think everyone already knows how gay you are, i.e. Step up 2 the Streets….but disappointed there’s no love for Edward Scissorhands…The soundtrack alone deserves to be on this list…

    • Ummm… no to Scissorhands and I do believe you were right there glued to Step Up 3D with me the other day, bizznatch! You know Step Up 2 rules… “She ain’t got no money in da bank.”

  2. Bruce Wayne Says:

    I would have to include white Christmas, miracle on 34th street and nightmare before Christmas. I would have stopped reading your blog if Christmas story was not number one. And in your photo of elf, that is Peter billingsly (ralphie) standing nest to buddy!

  3. Great list of Christmas movies although your ability to plug Love Actually everywhere is starting to become suspect 😉 This year has been pretty good on the TV too with most of the movie on your list being run.

    Merry Christmas Kai!

  4. mcarteratthemovies Says:

    You PREFER the remake? The one with Lacey-fucking-Chabert?

    I can’t even look at you right now, dude.

Leave a Reply

