TOP 15 HORROR MOVIE BADDIES

Let’s be honest… Horror movies need 3 things to be great. Hot naked women, good gory kills and an unforgettable bad guy! Here’s my Top 15 of the latter (in order):

15. THE INVISIBLE MAN.

You have no idea how hard it was to find an image of this character! While the Invisble Man makes the list, I don’t think he’s acheived his full potential on film yet. The idea of a man drunk on power having the ability to move amongst us without our knowledge is a creepy thing as the possibilities for evil are endless.

14. REAGAN.

My feelings on The Exorcist are well known so I’ll just say that Reagan makes the list because she scares me so much that I’ve never been able to finish the movie.

13. POLTERGEIST.

Theeeeey’re heeeeere… at #13. I had a huge tree outside my childhood window that scared the hell out of me after I saw this movie. Luckily, I knew better than to collect clown dolls. Why everyone doesn’t I’ll never know. This list would be incomplete if it didn’t include some form of spectre and, in that department, Poltergeist is #1. The scary thing about them is that you don’t know how to get rid of them and never really know if they’re TRULY gone. The bad Karma that surrounded the making of this film makes it all the creepier. Speaking of creepy…

12. THE CREEPER.

The 80’s was a great time for iconic horror movie characters with interesting mythologies. While a lot of good Horror films have come out since, Jeepers Creepers did a great job of building off what made those films great. An interesting bad guy with a great backstory: A monster who regenerates by itself by eating others… and it feeds for 23 days every 23 years.

11. THE THING.

I just saw this film a couple years back and have to admit that I was blown away! What’s scarier than a parasitic ET that kills other organisms and then begins to imitate them? How about a parasitic ET that kills other organisms and then begins to imitate them that’s trapped with you in a small research facility in the Antarctic?

10. NEIL MARSHALL’S WEREWOLVES.

I’ve got to admit that I never really found Werewolves particularly scary on film with a few exceptions such as the Howling and An American Werewolf in London. However, the scariest Bad Doggies of them all come from Neil Marshall’s Dog Soldiers. Hate to be in a kitchen knife fight with one of these Wookies on steroids. Sucked to be that guy!

9. MICHAEL MYERS.

I’m not a HUGE fan of the Halloween movies but there’s no doubting their place in film history. Michael Myers remains one of the Top 3 when it comes to classic Horror slasher characters.

8. THE BLOB.

The Blob gets a bit of an unfair shake in the Horror world since it came out so long ago but it truly is a disturbing and scary thing. Think about it… an unstoppable, well, Blob that eats everything that gets in it’s path and gets bigger with every bite it takes. This film disturbed me as a young boy and earns itself an 8 spot.

7. ALIENS.

Aliens have been depicted alot of different ways in film over the years but none have come close to being as scary as those in the Aliens films. We’re talking about a crab that comes out of an egg, gestates in your mouth, bursts out of your stomach and then tries to round you up to kill you or use you to breed. Not to mention it has acid for blood!

6. CHUCKY.

How many of you left your dolls in the hallway at night after seeing this film? I threw mine in the dumpster. What’s scarier than a talking doll that comes to life? A talking doll that comes to life as a 40 year old serial killer with the mouth of a sailor who’s hell bent on inhabiting your body!

5. JASON VORHEES.

Another one of the Top 3 slasher killers of all time, Jason makes the Top 5 for being arguably the most iconic Horror character in film history merely for his trademark Hockey mask and machete. However, the Friday the 13th films succeed, again, from creating a creepy mythology behind the character… and for making us all afraid to go into the woods.

4. LEATHERFACE.

Leatherface is one of the creepiest characters ever created. No small feat considering he comes from hell of a creepy clan. While movies about backwoods families have become commonplace, this film is the one that kicked off the craze and succeeds because it was made for so cheap that it borders on looking like a snuff film.

3. 80’s & 90’s VAMPIRES.

I was never a fan of Bram Stroker or Nosferatu and I certainly don’t find the new twinkly vampires all that scary but I have to admit that we had a pretty good 2 decade run at depicting one of the scariest monsters ever created. From Fright Night to the Lost boys to Interview with the Vampire and even up until Blade, the 80’s & 90’s rocked at depicting bloodsuckers on the big screen.

2. FRED KRUEGER.

Easily the greatest slasher of all time, I doubt anyone will argue this pick. While Freddy became pretty campy towards the end of his run on film, he started out as one hell of a scary killer. Again, thriving on a creepy backstory (that is barely explained), a former child killer who was burned alive by the town’s parents returns to seek revenge on their children in their dreams… and he wears a glove made of knives. I mean, come on!

1. ZOMBIES.

I doubt this surprises anyone as I talk about Zombies constantly so I’ll be brief. I have been a staunch advocate of Zombies being the greatest movie monster ever created for a long time. I have no intention of letting up now!

20 Responses to “TOP 15 HORROR MOVIE BADDIES”

  1. I completely agree with the placement of your Top 2.

  2. Bruce Wayne Says:

    I would include Norman Bates, the original unasuming nice guy with mother issues. The Candyman, preying on our fears through urban legends. The Cenobites, making us never want to go to an acupuncturist.

  3. It’s a shame that Jason Voorhees – who is a terrific monster – was in a string of terrible films. Even the best Friday The 13th movies don’t hold a candle to the better Halloween sequels.

  4. Great list! Totally agree with your number 1, nobody is better than zombies.

  5. I know I’m definitely in the minority on this but I think Reagan in The Exorcist is one of the most unintentionally hilarious characters of all time. Every time I hear “your mother sucks cocks in hell” I die of laughter. I’m not sure what it is, perhaps I’m a seriously demented person. Don’t get me wrong though, I still absolutely love The Exorcist. One of the all time greats.

    How about some love for the ghost twins in The Shining?

    • Love the Ghost Twins but can’t put them ahead of any of these.
      I agree abouty that line in The Exorcist. It is a bi9t out of left field from everything else.

  6. How can Reagan be #14 only?? Like you, she has prevented me from seeing more than 15 minutes of The Exorcist, she should be #1!!!

  7. The ’80s remake of The Blob has some fucking AWESOME kills that everyone forgets about. Dude getting sucked down the drain of a sink? Fucking. Awesome.

    And Chucky gets my vote. No baddie ever did so much damage to my youth as he did.

  8. […] touched on this in our Top 15 Horror Movie Baddies post. There’s something great about a Horror movie that is set around an interesting villain […]

  9. I know possessed dolls really freak some people out, but I really only started enjoying these Childs Play flicks after they introduced the Tiffany character and they became straight up comedy-horror. Which I always thought they should have been in the first place.

    I am a huge fan of The Exorcist and enjoy seeing it on any list but Reagan isn’t really a baddie…she’s just possessed by one.

    You can’t beat zombies.

Leave a Reply

