TOP 5 JO-GO MOVIES

Before we get started, I suppose I should tell  those of you not “in the know” that Jo-Go is the celebrity nickname I’m attempting to get to catch on for the wonderful young actor Joseph Gordon Levitt. Just so you know, “Operation Jo-Go” as we like to call it has officially become a movement. Join us on our Facebook page to support the cause by clicking here!!!

Back to the task at hand… I’ve been lacking on my lists lately so it’s time to get back on task. I’ve been meaning to do some lists featuring individual actors for some time. I figured who better to start with then the man himself: JO-GO! Here are my TOP 5 JO-GO MOVIES (in order):

SIDENOTE: I should state that I may need to revisit this list next year as Jo-Go has a Zombie film, a time travelling film and possibly a Batman film due to come out soon but for now…

5. 10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT YOU.

I think a lot of people like this film more than I do but it’s hard to discount what a cute film this is. Not to mention, I love when films take the works of Shakespeare (in this case, The Taming of the Shrew) and set them in the modern day (in this case, a modern day high school). A great ensemble piece that even features Jo-Go’s Doppelganger Heath Ledger.

4. THE LOOKOUT.

For those of you that haven’t heard of this film, Jo-Go plays a once promising athlete that has his life turned up-side-down following a tragic accident. As Jo-Go’s character tries to get his life back on track, he takes a job as a night janitor in a bank and ends up tangled in a plot to rob the bank he works in. I’m of the opinion that this performance was the one that shifted Jo-Go from bit and Indie player to bankable star… it’s a damn good indie too.

3. (500) DAYS OF SUMMER.

I won’t go on about this one too long. I’ll just say that if you don’t like this film then you probably also don’t like the laughter of children. This film is inventive, well shot and features great performances by it’s cast. In my opinion, the best film to showcase what a real relationship is like since Eternal Sunshine on the Spotless Mind.

2. INCEPTION.

Inception is easily one of the best films of the year. Oddly, most of the characters in it managed to be completely uninteresting. However, Jo-Go manges to chew up the scenery with every second he’s given on screen. He also manages to be the best part of a film filled with crack for your eyeballs. You could easily cut all his scenes and put them into a seperate short film and I would watch it over and over again.

1. BRICK.

If you haven’t seen this film… WTF??? Shot near my home town (in San Clemente, CA) on a budget of just a few hundred thousand, Brick manages to be not only a great film but an inventive one. Imagine a Humphrey Bogart film noir set in a high school featuring sex, drug rings and murder. The characters even talk like they’re in an old black and white. Might have to use the close captioning on your TV but make sure you catch every piece of dialogue muttered in this classic indie gem!!! 

What do you think???

32 Responses to “TOP 5 JO-GO MOVIES”

  1. Paragraph Film Reviews Says:

    Dude, Mysterious Skin’s about 3,000 times better than 10 things I hate about you!!!! Definitely think his acting style fits the ‘quirky guy’ in the Mystery/Nior genre for sure!

    We salute you JO-GO!

  2. Yeah, where the hell is MYSTERIOUS SKIN here? Also, did you rate based on quality of movie, or quality of his performance, because, at least for me, the lists change then.

    Top 5 (Based on Quality of Film)
    5. The Lookout
    4. Brick
    3. Incpetion
    2. Mysterious Skin
    1. (500) Days of Summer

    Top 5 (Based on his performance alone)
    5. Inception
    4. Brick
    3. Mysterious Skin
    2. (500) Days of Summer
    1. The Lookout

    But, all in all, damn fine list! I would be more then fine being stuck on a desert island with only these films to keep me busy!

    Viva la revolucion!

  3. What, no Angels in the Outfield? Heresy!

    Excellent list. I’m still working through his indie years when I have the time. As for The Lookout, it was a fine film, but I almost feel his performance and character were too good for the movie overall.

  4. Mysterious Skin was whack. I’m with ya’ on the picks, Kai.

  5. Awesome Top 3. I prefer (500) Days of Summer to Brick, but both are great films. He’s certainly one of the more compelling side characters of Inception and has the best moment of the film, the hallway fight.

    I was surprised by how much I like 10 Things I Hate About You. Good pick.

    Still need to see The Lookout and Mysterious Skin.

  6. Brick, what a movie, great choice for number one.

    Are you getting a little bit obsessed with JoGo?

  7. I have very little to add here sir, other than you’ve obviously covered all the bases.

    I haven’t seen quite a few of his films so I can’t really make a good or bad list even. I just know that his name should now officially be referred to as Jo-Go.

  8. Sadly I haven’t even seen enough Jay-Gee-El movie to make a top 5 😦

  9. Where in the blue hell is Angels in the Outfield?!?!?! Haha.

    I’d probably have Stop-Loss in my top 5. I love me some Kimberly Pierce.

  10. Really liked him way back when in Third Rock. Good actor. I expect to see more and more of him over the next few years.

  11. I love him, and I say this with as much affection as my tiny heart can muster…but do you ever get the feeling that he might be a tad of a douche?

  12. Jo-Go is certainly an actor with a bright future. I thought The Lookout was excellent and he was phenomenal in it. Same for (500) Days. He didn’t do much of anything at all in Inception. And as for Mysterious Skin – pass!!!

  13. From your list, I have only seen 2, 10 things and Inception. I really need to catch up on this young man.

    He was going to play as Riddler in Batman, right?

  14. cassiopeia137 Says:

    I totally agree with your list! I have seen all of these movies and have kind of been obsessed with JoGo since I first saw him in Angels in the Outfield. My boyfriend gives me crap about it (and calls him JGL). I’ll have to give the JoGo thing a shot, you may just have another convert to the movement.

    Have you seen Manic? Another small indie and awesome performance, and interestingly also with Zooey Deschanel. I definitely recommend checking it out – it might make it on the top 10 JoGo’s next year…

    Also, I can’t believe I just discovered your blog. I am also a LAMB and also write in Lists (10 Things I Hate* About Your Movie – http://idontfeelthatineedtoexplainmyarttoyouwarren.wordpress.com/). How have we not talked before? Anyway, I am a fan. Congrats on your 100th post!

    – Jenny

Leave a Reply

