MILFcast (aka: the Man, I Love Films podcast) – Episode 4

For Episode 4 of good ol’ MILFcast, I am joined by Dylan Fields (aka: FLETCH) of Blog Cabins and the LAMB (aka: the Large Association Movie Blogs). We discuss the following:

– What we’ve been watching.

– Some seriously overrated classics.

– Some Movie news.

– A 2nd super secret discussion.

– And we both play THE GAME!!!

You can find MILFcast on podOmatic by clicking here. You can also subscribe or download for free on iTunes. Please drop a comment on the ep below or send me an e-mail.

41 Responses to “MILFcast (aka: the Man, I Love Films podcast) – Episode 4”

  1. You have no clue how much I was screaming at you guys over CITIZEN KANE. There is so much going on in that movie that was so freakin’ groundbreaking and inventive…thing is that nowadays we take all of these tricks for granted.

    • I think you just proved our point for us. Yes, we recognize how groundbreaking and inventive it WAS, and appreciate it for that, but since I can’t put myself in a 1941 frame of mind where I’ve not seen all that came after, well…

  2. You’re begging me to go Matt gamble on your ass…you realize that?

    Fine, let’s go there: the story is what makes this so amazing.

    We begin with a man who by his own admission is a kid in a candy shop where his media outlet is concerned. This guy who “thinks it’d be fun” to run a newspaper. In a self-aware moment of storytelling, the very same actor who drove North America into hysteria with a faux radio broadcast, is playing a man who could take on any person he wants and paint them with any brush he wants.

    When faced with a photographer telling him, I’m in the warzone – but there’s no war, he dryly retorts “You give me the photos – I’ll provide the war”. We’re in an age where mass opinion is still being driven by people paying attention to the media more than their leaders…and the media can spin stories any which way they want. Here’s a guy talking about that seventy years ago, but it’s still relevant!!

    Then we move to him trying to buy his way into politics. He’s a mouthpiece, completely unqualified to lead except for the fact that he’s charismatic. And yet, because he’s talking into the loudest microphone – people listen to him and are damned near ready to put him into office. Until, at the last minute he’s undone by scandal – and a scandal he should have had the good sense to sidestep. Again – how often to we STILL see this happening in politics today??

    Finally, we get to him as an eccentric recluse. The guy amasses more money than God…he can literally buy anything his heart desires. But nothing he can buy, build, or collect ever seems to give him any sort of fulfillment. To paraphrase The Beatles, money can’t buy him love. It’s a theme that’s been played over and over throughout the years, but again is still very true and very relevant. How often these days do we hear about people with more money and fame than any of us will ever achieve being depressed, going into downward spirals, and living a life you or I would kill for but still feeling unfulfilled.

    It’s a brilliant original story – and NOTHING in that appealed to you???

    • You’re obviously missing my (our) point.

      Yes, it has all that and much, much more…that, by the time we’d seen Kane, we’d seen much of a number of times in a number of xeroxes. So when we saw Kane, it was anything but new TO US, and had the added disadvantage of being 40-60 years behind in terms of technology and acting, etc. In what way could we NOT have been let down by that?

      By the way, I now understand where your love of Cars comes from. 😉

      • Oh, and (whatever the topic), I think Gamble would just scream and call us ‘fucking idiots’ or something. ‘You think that way cause you guys are morons.”

  3. I’m getting damned close to saying “You think that because you’re a moron”.

    Your point is irrelevant. You might enjoy hearing Jeff Buckley sing ‘Hallelujah’…it doesn’t mean that when you later hear Leonard Coen’s version, that Coen’s seems stale and boring. It’s his idea – how can it be disadvantaged when it was original when he came up with it?

    By your argument, nobody should ever read a page of Shakespeare ever again because it’s all been xeroxed to death umpteen million ways.

    (CARS is a different story – let’s stay on point here).

    • So, by your logic, all of Shakespeare’s writings are your favorite writings ever, right? Or should we go back further? How far back do we need to go? And obviously, the only music you dig is tribal drums?

      I’m not saying that no one should read Billy, but I also wouldn’t be the least bit surprised and/or let down if they couldn’t relate to it. Study it, by all means, but I won’t be shocked when his writings aren’t your favorites.

      You don’t think that someone who’s read/seen all of those copies of Shakespeare wouldn’t be a bit bored with his stories when they got to them? You’re nuts.

      Why, just because it’s the original, do I have to like it the most? Why isn’t respecting it for what it is enough?

  4. As a matter of fact – I do love Hamlet. So there. And I would be monumentally let down if someone couldn’t relate to Billy. The guy wrote about themes and ideas that are still current. Love, betrayal, corruption, racism, loyalty. The guy’s been copied more times than damned near any artist in history.

    Someone might need help with the language, but beyond that if they can’t relate – they too are morons.

    You guys weren’t talking about respecting it…you were talking about how let down you were by it and how you expected it to be way better than it was. There was no “Yeah I get it, and I see what it did” it was “Everything older than 1962 tends to get on my nerves because I’ve seen it redone seventeen different ways”.

    You guys are better than that!

    (PS – We’re still good here, right? This is two friends arguing I hope)

    • Hey, you’re the one calling me a moron. 😉 I’m cool.

      That said, I think you’re being pretty pig-headed about all this. I can understand and respect why they’re considered classics in the first place, but if you can’t understand at all why I might prefer Fight Club to Harvey or The Matrix to Ben-Hur, I really can’t help you.

  5. You’re killing me…

    I don’t just respect these films, I consider them amongst my very favorites. If you told me right now thatI could only keep twenty five of my hundreds of dvd’s, you had better believe that flicks like CITIZEN KANE, THE GODFATHER, CASABLANCA, and IT’S A WONDERFUL LIFE are staying. (The same way I’d keep Ray Charles and The Beatles if you told me I’d have to forsake all but twenty of my albums).

    Are you guys just getting too hung up on setting? Like if we were to take KANE and transpose it to a modern tale about a media mogul, would it make it more palatteable? Or are you just getting your haunches up because you’re sitting down to watch it with the predisposition that you’re supposed to like it?

    • I think I’m just gonna let Kai take over from here (or at least chime in).

      • Oh come on now, you’re gonna pass the ball after going one-on-one with me <this long?

        We didn’t even get into the fact that the film is visually stunning in so many ways. There are dozens of moments from this sucker that I could frame up on a wall.

        My main point though, is still this – what makes 99% of classic cinema endure is great storytelling. Great storytelling is great storytelling, no matter the era it’s set in. many of these classics that are missing the mark for you are great stories…and the argument that you don’t gravitate towards the story because you’ve heard it retold twelve different ways doesn’t jive.

      • “Oh come on now, you’re gonna pass the ball after going one-on-one with me <this long?"

        If you wish to think that you've won some sort of debate of the ages against me, you're more than welcome to. We're just going in circles here…

      • I know I haven’t won – I’m not even close, and that’s what disappoints me to hear that you’re bailing out.

      • Editor In Chief Says:

        hey boys…i really wanted to comment on how citizen kane really bored me, but after this heated debate, i think i might pass…i will go so far as to say that i don’t watch movies before 1995…with a few exceptions…that’s how moronic i am…

        my husband asked me to tell you he really can’t wait to chime in, however, his real job is keeping him pretty busy…

        love you kai, love your work, and love how in sync our movie tastes are…except for zombies….and the whole bill murray thing…

      • @ E-I-C… Yeah, that just made my soul hurt a little bit more.

        I can only imagine what Kai will think when he gets a chance to see all of this. Maybe I can convince him on the error of his ways, because it doesn’t look like Dylan’s breaking anytime soon…

        …even though he clearly can’t give me a solid counter-point.

      • “even though he clearly can’t give me a solid counter-point.”

        Oohhh…burn. Not my fault you choose to ignore them all.

        How can there be an error in personal tastes?

      • Alright – there can’t be an error in personal taste. Doesn’t mean your personal taste can’t disappoint me.

  6. (Puts Citizen Kane at top of Netflix queue, hoping that no one notices I haven’t seen the greatest movie of all-time)

  7. After all that, what can I say other than: YES! Cars did suck! haha

  8. Deep breath… OK… Thoughts… I’ll start from the top:
    1. The story is not what makes it amazing. The method of storytelling is what is quite impressive and inventive. The story is quite dull. However, this is a matter of taste/ opinion and really can’t be argued.
    2. Fletch is not a moron. He is a bit of a dick for the whole JoGo thing though… ha! 🙂
    3. The Hallelujah reference is a strange comparison yet somewhat apt. That doesn’t mean I like all old music. I may LOVE Elvis Presley but not necessarily like all the blues artists he stole from to make his music.
    4. As far as Shakespeare, I can’t say I’ve read enough and if I have I didn’t understand half of it. I have seen enough of his movies and their adaptations to appreciate his work. However, while Citizen Kane may have been somewhat Nostredamus-esque in it’s early depictions of politics and media, it is in no way as poignant as Shakespeare’s work which, dranatically, touches you on an emotional level with it’s characters and themes. AGAIN, an opinion. I know people who think Shakespeare is rubbish. And yes they are heathens.
    5. Hatter’s recreation of what we said is a bit skewed. I did in fact say twice that the performance was amazing and that the storytelling and filmmaking were groundbreaking and original. Not an exact quote but I did point it out… twice. I just said that the movie over all fell flat for me. I had high expectations for it but did with Casablanca and Gone With the Wind as well and they delivered.
    6. The whole things have been redone so much thing wasn’t made in reference to this film. I made it with Animal House but I think that is a fair argument. I appreciate Animal House but it doesn’t make me laugh because I’ve seen it. I LOVE Fletch’s When Harry Met Sally/ Annie Hall reference. That’s a great point. I’d rather watch the former. If I was 10 years older I’d probably say the latter.
    SIDENOTE: I don’t like the You guys are better than that comment.
    7. We didn’t say everything before the 70’s was shit. We said we prefer films of the last 40 years. They’re easier to connect with. I have been blown away by older films but so many are from a time that wasn’t speaking to me. I like Fletch’s Newman Brando gateway to the past point. There are great films back then.
    8. I think we did modernize CK by comparing it to There Will Be Blood. Again, a somewhat boring movie that is carried by great filmmaking and a great performance… like CK.
    9. Not everyone likes the Beatles. I do… and if I could only keep 25 DVD’s I wouldn’t even put CK in the maybe pile.
    10. QUOTE:”Or are you just getting your haunches up because you’re sitting down to watch it with the predisposition that you’re supposed to like it?”
    I think snobs (not you Hatter) would put on heirs and pretend to like this film. I think it’s refreshing that we’re being honest.
    11. I didn’t start a podcast to say what everyone wants to hear or to try and shock people. I did it to be honest and start a dialogue on films. It appears I’ve done that so maybe I do deserve a LAMMY! ha I feel sometimes like saying that Fight Club is my favorite film somehow demotes my opinion as a film lover but eff that. I am who I am and I’m not going to pretend to like shit just cuz other people do or say I should.
    12. It was Matineecast with GMan that inspired this topic BTW.
    13. Story telling techniques were amazing in this. The story fell flat for me and Dylan. Again it’s a matter of taste. I don’t think you should be disappointed in us.
    14. I hope I’ve made a decent argument. I am beat from work. Feel free to rebuttle.

  9. Welcome to the party Kai…hoe your day at work was a good’n.

    Now…where to begin…

    1. That story is still a great one, which is why it still resonates with people (not all people – but some people). The broken narrative, while inventive, wouldn’t be enough to raise this movie to what people consider it to be. It’s an engaging story of a guy who was literally handed everything in life…but still found his life deeply unfulfilled. Hearing that you found it dull would usually prompt me to suggest “watch it again”…but I’ll leave that out.

    2. Fletch is the man. Full stop. When he frustrates me like this though, he’s a moron. (He seldom does, which is part of what makes him the man).

    3. Using your point about seeing other films telling similar stories before you got to the originals – you love Elvis, but would that mean that you couldn’t be moved by hearing someone like Pavorotti sing “O Sole Mio” because you’d already heard Elvis do “It’s Now or Never”?

    4. In the grand scheme of things, you are right – neither KANE nor Welles are Shakespeare. But Fletch said he wouldn’t be surprised if someone couldn’t relate to Shakespeare. That was more my argument (and I still think he’s wrong), but it’s off topic.

    5. Interesting…you dig the story, the way it was told, and the lead performance. But something still doesn’t jive for you. This makes me want to know what misfired for you, because those are three really big components to what makes a movie work. For me, that’d be enough to at least give the film a mild thumb’s up, and perhaps push me to watch it again down the road.

    (Sidenote – how long has it been since you guys watched this?)

    6. The redone slam is a common one, so I pulled it to argue with Kane too. Whichever film it’s used against, I think it’s an unfair criticism. We tend to have a soft spot for whatever we see first, but that shouldn’t preclude us from recognizing which is better. In two months, you could very well be pulling your hair out at hearing a lot of unadventurous moviegoers claim that LET ME IN is their new favorite movie. That said, I’d suggest we steer clear of comedy since it’s so very subjective.

    – The “you guys are better” was in jest. Plus, the fact that you dug CASABLANCA and GONE WITH THE WIND proves that you’re better. GWTW of course being the classic that I don’t care much for.

    7. Good point, but explain that a bit more. Beyond technology and a little bit of slang every once in a while, what is it about pre 1970’s films that makes them difficult to connect with?

    Sidebar – The pre-1960 essentials
    SINGIN IN THE RAIN
    VERTIGO
    THE WIZARD OF OZ
    THE THIRD MAN
    (Every Charlie Chaplin film)
    DOUBLE INDEMNITY
    SNOW WHITE & THE SEVEN DWARVES
    IT HAPPENED ONE NIGHT
    REAR WINDOW
    12 ANGRY MEN

    8. BLOOD didn’t include nearly as much technical ingenuity as KANE does. I usually tell people to watch it twice, the second time with Ebert’s commentary running since there are a boatload of tricks going on that we might not notice the first time through. I will gladly concede that there are dozens of ‘okay’ films that feature great performances…but this isn’t one of them.

    9. You’re right, not everyone likes The Beatles…but there’s no denying what they did for music. Every rock act working today owes a massive debt to what The Beatles did. And like Kane, they were doing it first.

    10. Good point, but the question still stands. Fletch tried to get people talking about it during the last LAMBcast, but they didn’t really take the bait. I’m being honest when I say it’s a film I like watching. There are classics/essentials that don’t do much for me…films that I watched once and was done with (2001, ALL ABOUT EVE, TREASURE OF THE SIERRA MADRE, and the afore-mentioned GONE WITH THE WIND). Kane is a story I think truly still holds.

    11. I’d never want you to do any different, because the reason I tune in is to hear what you have to say. It was listening to what you had to say that sparked this whole conversation – so well done. But you can’t have my Lammy.

    12. I lost count of the amount of times I wanted to smack him through the course of that show. He’s thinking of coming up to Toronto for TIFF and I might put video of the slaps on Youtube if he does.

    13. Again – what in the story misfired for you?

    14. Very well done. You could teach Fletch a thing or two about posing a decent counterpoint (zing!).

    • Off to bed… will respond tomorrow! To be continued. Worse comes to worse we have our MILFcast discussion for the 25th. haha

    • Okay, I respond now:
      3. Not necessarily but I could be completely indifferent to it. Again, it’s a matter of opinion/likes/dislikes.
      4. I think made a great argument. I will say that Billy is heavy shit and I can see some people not feeling like taking that on. Still, I think everyone can find something in his works to relate to. But even I, believe it or not a pretty intelligent guy, needed help filtering his works to make them understandable and therefore relatable. Completely has nothing to do with CK, BTW.
      5. It’s been a couple years. Also, never said I liked the story. Therein lies the issue. Story bored me. I found Welles completely stunning to watch perform but there’s plenty pof weak movies that feature great performances. Also, I appreciate the storytelling, admitted it was breakthrough for the time and set the standard to a certain extent but seen it copied a million times so it doesn’t blow me away. Ultimately, it’s the story.
      6. WE COULD COMPLETELY FLIP THIS ONTO GWTW YA KNOW? HA
      7. If this answer isn’t obvious or hasn’t been covered yet, I don’t think I can explain it. OVERALL, we just prefer modern films. Animation doesn’t count and those films you mentioned, from what I’ve heard of most of them, are exceptions. But that is a handful out of thousands.
      9. No one is arguing this point even for CK.
      10. Like GWTW, these films again prove our point. There are films you too don’t care much for that others would swear by (2001 especially, I’m sure). We just stumbled on a film that did it for you I think. Understandable…. this is why I Love Films, Man… or something like that! 🙂
      11. hahaha… it’s mine!!!
      13. It just bored me to tears… my wife too… sorry!
      14. I thought he did good! haha

  10. All this talk of Kane…and not a single comment on our respective record-setting performances in THE GAME? Seriously?

  11. No way, this causes me too much amusement. It’s like joking with Nick about how smaller movies never seem to make it to his town.

  12. […] Tune in to the MILFcast if you haven’t already! (The List) […]

  13. Hey just wanted to say I really dig your podcast and this was a super fun episode! Loved the “overrated classics” discussion. I thought Citizen Kane was ok but I hate Gone With the Wind and The Godfather so I’m often in the minority when it comes to “best movie” discussions.

    And Fletch, MY GOD, I can’t believe how good you are at THE GAME! And Kai, I can’t believe how bad you are at it!

    Seriously, though, good times all around and great job guys!

    • Thanks, Alex… KEEP LISTENING!!!
      I was tired so that’s my excuse. Fletcher got lucky cuz I picked films off his blog and felt bad that I had been so ruff on Andy the week before.
      Oh, and I think the Godfather is overrated too though I fear that may give Hatter a stroke! haha

Leave a Reply

