TOP 10 MOVIE PROPS WE WISH WE OWNED

Nah… too tacky!

Heather, my new BFF over at Movie Mobsters, and I just realized it had been far too long since we worked on something together. Seeing as we both do lists every week, we thought it high time we tag team one together. So, what better way to do that then to present you with the TOP 10 MOVIE PROPS WE WISH WE OWNED.

Heather‘s Top 5:

5. FACE-HUGGER.

I know, you all thought I would have picked the infamous Frontloader, but no I have visions of virtual insanity in regards to that particular prop.  What I’m interested in, is having my own personal FACEHUGGER.  Not only would this be fun, but it would enable my already excessive maniacal sense of humor and I’d spend my days scaring the stuff out of people.  

4. DARTH MAUL’S LIGHTSABER.

I get crap for loving this villain so much, but as far as I’m concerned he’s wicked smooth.  Not just because of The Phantom Menace, but because I’ve read some of those fan-boy novels and the ones that involve him are epic evil goodness.  In any case, for any SW’s fan, a lightsabor is a necessity for a fan collection, and while I wouldn’t mind being owner to Vader’s or Mace Windu’s, I’m going to kill time with the double bladed saber.

3. THE ONE RING.


If I get the precious I can rule the universe.  And if I rule the universe then I could eradicate all of The Samurai and fill the planet with my Ninja minions.  In seriousness, it’s no secret that I have a huge affection for Lord Of The Rings, and as many wonderful props that could be acquired from the film, nothing would be as powerful or symbolic than One ring to rule them all.

2. RAOUL DUKES’ HAT, SUNGLASSES & CIGARETTE HOLDER.

To deal with boredom at work or anywhere else, be it a grocery store or a sporting event, or even my job, I randomly walk like Raul Duke does during his Ether high.  It looks like he’s trying to walk but there’s no gravity.  I decided to call it my zero gravity walk.  What would be more amazing to accompany that walk that the hat, sunglasses, and cigarette holder of Raul Duke.  For craps sake, THIS IS BAT COUNTRY!

5. RUBY SLIPPERS

What kind of list would this be without something from “The Wizard Of Oz”?  It would be a bad one.  Her slippers are possibly the most recognizable item from film ever, and the subject of many young girls dreams and fantasies, including my own.  Magical and beauty ruby slippers.  What girl or fabulous boy would dream of keeping them.  They are more than shoes, they are movie history.

http://www.moviemobsters.com/
http://twitter.com/MovieMobsters
http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#!/TheGoblinQueen

Kai‘s Top 5:

5. FREDDY’S GLOVE.

As I said on a previous post, Horror and Sci-Fi are my 2 favorite genres. I needed to have something on my list to represent them. I debated hard between this and Jason’s hockey mask, arguably the 2 most iconic horror props ever created. In the end, I had to go with my favorite.

Not to mention the fact that Freddy’s glove is just so much more useful. After all, my wife loves chopped salads and time-outs just aren’t working on my kids anymore. This’ll put the fear of God in ’em. GIVE IT TO ME!!!

4. THE BAT SUIT (1989).

I think my wife would agree that this would look fantastic displayed in our living room. Of course, it would look even better on me at night as I fought crime in my town. Well, at least while I ran around on my neighbor’s roof tops.

Anyway, you have to admit that Michael Keaton’s Bat Suit is the baddest of the bunch. Blue Cape and grey tights, my ass. Everything that came after is just a copy to the original bat ass design (See what I did there?). Even Nolan’s fantastic take pales in comparison… and I WANT IT!!!

3. INDY’S HAT & WHIP.

I know… it’s really 2 props. Thanks for the input, Nancy Negative! But, in my opinion, these 2 props are inseperable as they define Indiana Jones and transform him from dull, mild mannered professor into ass kicking archeologist. Do those really exist? Not to mention, they are as iconic as, and the male equivalent of, the red slippers from The Wizard of Oz. LET ME HAVE ‘EM!!!

2. THE PROTON PACK.

Who ya gonna call? Well, if I had my way, you could call me and I would be available for all your paranormal extermination needs. Sure, it seems silly now but if you’re going to keep this negative attitude then don’t even bother calling me when your eggs start jumping out of the package and frying themselves on your kitchen counter.

I made my love of Ghostbusters real clear in my last post: FILMS THAT DEFINED US. The proton pack is what makes this movie. Not to mention it is one of the most original and inventive movie ideas of it’s time. Dear God, if you let me have one I PROMISE NOT TO CROSS THE STREAMS!!!

1. THE HOVERBOARD.

Speaking of inventive ideas, how’s about a shot out for the coolest movie prop a person could own… the Hoverboard from Back to the Future 2. Sure, I’d like a time traveling Delorean as much as the next guy but I’d rather shred the pavement from 6 inches off the ground.

It kind of pisses me off that this one has to be on my list. I was under the impression, like many of us, that these would someday be made available to the public. Alas, they are not. But, damnit, I GOTTA HAVE ONE… even if I have to settle for the hot pink girl version used in the film!

That’s it from me, kiddies. Make sure and stop by Heather‘s site which you can do by clicking here.

34 Responses to “TOP 10 MOVIE PROPS WE WISH WE OWNED”

  1. Great idea for a list. I could go with most of those picks, but you can keep the Ruby Slippers and Batsuit. And I’m pretty sure putting Freddy’s glove on would go to your head in all manner of disastrous ways.

    My addition? I want GIZMO!

  2. I love this article! I once nearly paid £200 ($350+) for a replica pulse rifle from Aliens. Thought it looked so cool. But I saw sense before going through with the purchase…as much as I’d love walking around my living room pretending to be Hicks, the price was a little too steep.

  3. […] Kai, my new BFF over at The List decided it was due time we worked on something together again. Seeing as we both do lists every week, we thought it high time we tag team one together. So, what better way to do that then to present you with the TOP 10 MOVIE PROPS WE WISH WE OWNED. […]

  4. That hoverboard would have to be number one on my list as well, especially if I could get those shoes as part of the deal. Another prop I would love to have is the Mirthmobile from Wayne’s World, complete with the red rope licorice dispenser inside it.

  5. Ahahahha love that picture of the face-hugger, I will get myself one someday! 🙂

  6. Agreed – fantastic topic for a list, and damnit, I wanted a hoverboard so bad as a kid. My brother and I actually got whips when we were kids so that we could be mini-Indys, but they were far from the real thing – maybe 8 feet long. Still, it felt pretty cool.

    You guys covered about everything I might want, but I’ll add Luke’s robot hand from Empire – that’d be a cool prop to have.

  7. It was hard to pick one thing from Star Wars, and Kai went and stole Indy’s whip before I had a chance to grab it. I also picked the Ruby slippers before I knew what he had written about the whip and hat. My son went as Indy two Halloweens ago. Epic.

    My favorite part of this post is the pic Kai used for Freddy’s hand.

  8. Paragraph Film Reviews Says:

    Does Gemma Anderton count as a prop? Sweet list!

  9. I remember entering a competition around the time Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade was released. I won it, and was supposed to get an Indiana Jones jacket and whip from Lucasfilm. I ended up only getting the jacket because they weren’t allowed to give me a whip for some kind of health and safety reason. Boy, was I pissed. Nice jacket, though. Still have it.

  10. Said it on MM, but what an awesome list Kai. But what? No Bub on a chain tied up in your garage? I thought you were a zombie man:P

    It seems trite but I would like a sword from The Last Samurai (oh good call Mar, samurai sword…BORING)…or maybe Kevin Costner’s journals from Dances with Wolves, that’s a little more original:)

    Great idea bro! Great call on the proton pack!

  11. Hi Kai! I’m always on the Mobsters site and see you commenting on Anamolous – so I thought it was high time I start checking out your site. Great list — very out-of-the-box, especially the Raul Duke entry. Bookmarked you and hope to be blogging buddies ffrom now on!

    Peter
    Magic Lantern Film Blog

  12. […] and The Los Angeles Times, were stuck talking about “The Switch.”  They gave a list of 10 movie props they wished they owned.  What a great idea!  I think I’ll chime in with the movie prop I most want to […]

  13. After some more thought on this, I would take the Zorg ZF-1 Pod Gun.

  14. If I could own just one prop it would be that huuuuuge ‘special map’ that Clare made for Drew in Elizabethtown, complete with CDs

  15. […] few months ago, I wrote a factoid based on Kai’s movie items he wished he had.  I jumped the gun and quickly said I wanted the basketball from “Space Jam” with the […]

Leave a Reply

