IS IT JUST ME?

Okay, so, Let The Right One In is one of the best vampire movies I’ve ever seen… and they’re remaking it. Which is fine… I’m not here to get into that. I’ll even say I think the trailers for the remake looks quite good. However, there is one thing that’s pissing me off.

Here’s the new title of the film:

Let Me InLET ME IN??!!!

Let The Right One In was a great title. Now, if they want to change the title for the remake I’m fine with that but shortening the title to Let Me In just bugs me. It’s not even creative or suitable… it’s jujst shorter. Is it just me?

40 Responses to “IS IT JUST ME?”

  1. Look at it this way Kai, at least they didn’t shorten it to “The Right One”.

  2. Not it’s just lazy…a bit like remaking it in the first place. Hollywood seems to be gleefully unaware that most of the world has already seen Let The Right One In and enjoyed it. The remake won’t be half as good – hence a title half as long. It isn’t like The Ring remake where most western audiences hadn’t seen the film (at least until after the hype of the remake). Let The Right One In is one of the best films of 08 – it’s too young and fresh in people’s minds to be remade.

  3. Paragraph Film Reviews Says:

    Man, thought LTROI was one of the most over-rated films in the history of cinema. Thought it was too long, not enough plot, not scary… Really don’t know how it got so big (COUGH Twilight COUGH).

    I can’t imagine how Hollywood could tame this one down further. I think it’ll end up going down the Eli Roth route… FAIL.

    http://paragraphfilmreviews.com/2009/07/13/let-the-right-one-in/

  4. Think of it this way – it’s better than flipping OPEN YOUR EYES into VANILLA SKY.

  5. The thing is people keep referring to Let Me In as a remake, but I kinda see it as another adaptation of the book. The story is based on the book. Sure Let Me In is only made because of the popularity of the Let the Right One In, but the original story/source material is not Let the Right One In “the movie”, its Let the Right One In “the book”.

  6. I have to say, it sounds very, very pedestrian.

    • Yes, it makes me feel like I have 10 seconds to cross an intersection!

    • Paragraph Film Reviews Says:

      Agree heather! Spoiler city but some obvious points that the original film hinted at were:

      – The chick vampire used to be a dude!!!!!!
      – Her ‘Dad’ is a previous ‘lover’
      – Oskar is ‘re-born’ in the pool at the end
      – Oskar’s dad is gay.
      – it also left out a whole bunch of drugs, theft, pedophilia, prostitution – to mention a few bits.

      Could have been so much better, edgier, scarier and more interesting if they chose to tackle those issues head on in the film.

      What’s left was pretty mundane, and I doubt Hollywood will even go near any of those points above.

      (Sorry if I sound like an ass but I just didn’t understand the fuss!) 😀

  7. I love the original title, because it gelled with the story in that one. LET ME IN is just a playful term for the kids in the movie.

    I’m not profoundly affected by the change, but I wish that they kept the original title.

  8. Yeah Let Me in just sounds weird to me. What’s wrong with just keeping the original title? At least it would have that familiarity to some people.

    That and that new poster is almost ETish…or maybe that’s just me.

  9. I can’t figure why all of the posters say from the director of Coverfield Matt Reeves. How many people know, or care, who Reeves is?

  10. Exactly. It’s like how people are now saying “FROM THE STUDIO THAT BROUGHT YOU…” it’s a way to get people immediately interested in your film. But Reeves IS a good director.

    • Yeah, Cloverfield was great and this looks good too. I actually feel bad for him cuz I feel like some people still think Abrams directed Cloverfield.

  11. Well look at this way, when it sucks it will have as little association with the original as possible! I just hate that Hollywood always feels they have to make a new version of everything. Now they don’t even take old movies, they’ll use anything warm!

  12. Editor In Chief Says:

    Thank you Paragraph Film Reviews, the original was such a bore!! and this one looks like a shot for shot remake…the trailer even gives it the same tone. the only thing that i do like about the new one is the boy from the road, kodi smit-mcphee. he has such sad eyes…

  13. Let Me In.. great REM song
    about Kurt Cobain, i think

  14. It was rather dull, but at least people won’t get the remake confused with the original. I was pissed that this was getting made, but the trailer looks halfway decent. That, and Chloe gives me hope.

  15. Let the Right Me In.

    It’s kinda lame, but it doesn’t bother me all that much, no more so than its existence in the first place.

  16. The title Let the Right One In was based on a song by The Smiths, so maybe they’re following the trend with Let Me In by REM. Either way, I won’t bother watching it. If it ain’t broke don’t fix it. Hollywood loves to remake foreign movies because they know how many people run screaming from subtitled films. I loved Let the Right One In, book and movie, but I can’t see any value in this remake at all, whatever dumb title that choose to give it.

    I just realised how pompous I sound. Sorry about that. 😀

  17. My understanding is that the book was originally published in America under the title “Let Me In” as the publisher didn’t like the full title. I think it’s a good thing that they have different titles. Think of all the times you have mentioned the name of a movie then qualified it by saying “the original” or “the Hollywood remake”: The Vanishing, Funny Games, Taxi, Insomnia and Bangkok Dangerous to name a few. (and in the case of all the movies mentioned the original is much better than the remake!)

  18. Joel Burman Says:

    I’m more pissed off that the remake trailer is a scene by scene remake of the swedish one. I thought they were going to go back to the original source not the Swedish adaptation.

    When it comes to vampires on film and TV, nothing compares to Buffy the Vampire slayer!

  19. I never really thought of that but you are totally right. I mean why even change the damn thing. The title was fine as it was. I would be super pissed if The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo remake was changed to Kickass Computer Hacker Girl.

  20. Joel Burman Says:

    Actually Kickass Computer Hacker Girl would be an improvement I think. The translated swedish title of the first film is “Men who hates women”.

  21. Ummm…let me in is the original title of the book. Yea, it’s not as good as “Let the Right One In” but maybe it’s best that the two films have different titles.

  22. Joel Burman Says:

    James: Where did you hear that? I am swedish and here the book have always been titled “Let the right one in” maybe you meant that the book title in the US is “Let me in”?

Leave a Reply

