MILFcast (aka: the Man, I Love Films podcast) – EPISODE 2

Episode 2 of MILFcast is now available. You can hear it streaming on podOmatic by clicking here or download/ play it on iTunes for free.

My guests were Scott (He Shot Cyrus) and Whitney (Dear Jesus) of the Frankly, My Dear podcast.

We had a general discussion of underrated films (though hidden gems may have been a more apt title), we talked about Mel Gibson’s fury fueled tyrade, we do a very special edition of celebrity spotlight and Scott and Whitney attempt to defeat Heather‘s high score on THE GAME!!!

Check it out and let me know what you think!!!!!

13 Responses to “MILFcast (aka: the Man, I Love Films podcast) – EPISODE 2”

  1. Well! Kai! I just downloaded both episodes and listened to them back to back. First off – I absolutely love the game! I would’ve scored higher than Movie MObster Heather… but probably failed with Scott/Whitney’s ones …

    I love the lack of reviews – just getting stuck straight into movie chatter and all that whilst I also love your radio DJ voice.

    I swear with Reel Insight, Frankly My Dear and Yourself I am really screwed next year with our podcast. We need to up-our-game!

    I have to admit, with regard to underrated films – I think people too easily get underrated mixed-up with unknown. You will always have unknown films that simply didn’t get the marketing, but there ae others which get slammed by critics and slammed by others – only to be watched and be actually quite good! For me, ‘The Village’ is awesome – possibly the best Shyamalan movie – vastly underrated and, considering how similar it is visually and, to some extent thematically, to Micahel Hanekes ‘The White Ribbon’, that surely says how some movies simply get the recognition and win awards whilst others … don’t.

    Simon

    • Thanks a ton for the kind words, Simon. I am also a fan of yours.
      I agree about the underrated movies topic, that’s why I prefaced here that it was really more of a hidden gem segment. I think 13 Going on 30 was a good pick for underrated and I had picked The Prestige but had to cut it for time… we recorded for an hour and a half… the others were a bit obscure. Though I still wanna check them out.
      Also, love hearing someone not bagging on M. Night for a change. I actually love all his films except for the Happening… though Unbreakable remains my favorite!
      Say HELLO to Jo for me! 🙂

  2. Jonny the Negative Nancy Says:

    Get ready for a shock. I actually enjoyed your most recent podcast. I even chuckled audibly a few times. Either you’re getting better, or I’m becoming less the cultural curmudgeon.

  3. I plan to listen ASAP, I’m behind on Hatter’s podcast as well, not to mention The Film Cynics. Tomorrow is my day off and I’m spending it making sweet love to my laptop and the blogverse. Aside from that I’m sorry for being completely unreachable and absent for the last week!

  4. Great episode. I would have loved/hated to be on this one depending on the questions I got. I would have scored about five on Scott’s questions and fifteen on Wendy’s.

    My addition to the underrated movies. Form 1999 a great direct to video movie: The Thirteenth Floor

    • I’ve heard of the 13th floor. I will check it out. As far as the game, 15 on Whitney’s would’ve been impressive though, as I can attest from playing the LAMBcast game recently, it’s much harder on the spot. And you’ll get your chance soon enough my friend! 🙂

  5. another great episode! I’m waiting for the day that someone actually gets the first question right in the 21 game.

    • Me too. I’m going to take a crack at it this weekend so fingers crossed. Thanks for listening and stay tuned for episode 3 which should be up Monday with Andy from Fandango Groovers and my new semi-regular cohost, Heather from Movie Mobsters.

  6. I won’t go so far as to say that I would’ve broken any records, but damnit, I had Total Recall on the 2nd clue.

    Loving your show, Kai. Can’t wait to be on it.

Leave a Reply

