THE REASONS MOVIES RULE: THE KARATE KID

It’s time for a new entry into our REASONS MOVIES RULE series. Wherein we give you 10 reasons a cult film, be it awesomely good or so bad it’s awesomely good, deserves to be given some respect. This week’s entry: THE KARATE KID.

The REASONS MOVIES RULE series varies from our FILMS YOU DIDN’T KNOW YOU NEEDED TO SEE series a bit in that you’ve probably seen these films but I just don’t think you realize how much they rule!

This film has been forced to the top of my list of films to include in this series ever since last week’s release of the horrible remake (starring Jackie Chan and Jayden Smith) which seems to retain none of the things that made the original so awesome.

So, I present to you, dear readers, 10 reasons THE KARATE KID rules. Here ya go:

10. QUOTES.

Like all movies included in this series, there has to memorable dialogue. Here are some favs of mine:

“Points or no points, you’re dead meat.”
(Only Steve McQueen’s son could make a line with the words “dead meat” work)

“Show me sand-a-da-floor. AYE!”

“Wax on, wax off.”

“Bonzai, Daniel-son. Bonzai!”

“Sweep the leg.”

“Give him the body bag, YEAH!” (My personal favorite)

“All right, Daniel. You’re the best!”

9. SOUNDTRACK.

That last quote leads into a perfect example of the awesome music used in this film. Check it out here:

8. MR. MIYAGI.

Arguably, should be on someone’s list of Top 100 most memorable film characters. To show you how much things have changes in the past 25 years, this was an Academy Award nominated performance. Good luck to you, Jackie Chan.

In the world of the film, I can’t believe Mr. Miyagi is able to maintain his composure. I mean the film is set in the 80’s but there’s dudes everywhere that are still really pissed about the Korean War. Miyagi can’t go 5 steps outside his house without somebody shouting an ethnic slur at him in this film… even at a karate tournament. If I was him, I’d be Crane kicking everybody.

7. ELIZABETH SHUE.

Hot back then…

… even hotter now!
(Though I’m sure my Editor-in-Chief will disagree!)

6. SWEET MOVES.

Sure there’s the Wax on, Wax off stuff that made us all think that household chores could be used to turn us into black belts… why our parents didn’t try to capitalize on that fallacy is beyond me… my room would’ve been immaculate!

However, the iconic move in the film has to be the Crane kick. I love that in the film Miyagi says to Daniel, “If do right, no can defend.” Yeah! Cuz he’s not telegraphing that a kick’s coming with that stance or anything!

5. COBRA KAI.

I have a certain affinity for the Cobra Kai because, well, my name is Kai. Let’s face it, these were an awesome group of 80’s teenage baddies. And who better to lead the pack than Johnny played by William Zabka… the go-to actor for a great 80’s douschebag!

4. FLIES & CHOPSTICKS.

I have no idea what this has to do with karate but I do know we’ve all tried it at least a couple of times in our life… and it is f–king impossible!!!

3. THE HAND HEAL.

Apparently, any ailment can be cured by clapping your palms together, rubbing them for friction and applying to the body. Why we haven’t applied this to Cancer research is beyond me???

2. BEST HALLOWEEN COSTUME EVER.

Okay, so, you want to go to the school dance so you can get your swerve on with Elizabeth Shue but you also don’t want to get your ass handed to you by the skeleton crew known as the Cobra Kai… what do you do? You go as a shower, right? It’s either a genius idea or the dumbest ever. On the one hand, know one knows who’s inside the curtain. On the other, you’re the biggest and most noticeable thing in the room!

1. PREMISE.

With most films, there are usually a certain amount of absurd things you need to buy in to in order for a film to work. THE KARATE KID is no exception! The only one that ever bothered me is the fact that a mother moves her kid to a brand new town and doesn’t seem to mind that he’s taken up hanging out with creepy Asian janitor who hangs out in the apartment complex’s basement. I mean at first it may seem harmless but once my kid started trimming trees, doing Tai-Chi and wearing sunglasses to the dinner table to cover black eyes, I’m thinking I might have at least one WTF moment with my son!

That’s it for now, Daniel-son!

For a very entertaining review of the remake, check out (from Cut the Crap)Aiden‘s review here.

If you have a cult film you’d like to see covered here, or a blogger interested in getting in on the action and donating a review to coincide whith our picks, you can e-mail me at: kai_parker@yahoo.com.

Feel free to comment below. You can also sign up to get this blog via e-mail at the top of the page. And, as always, if you like this site, TELL A FRIEND!

Check back Saturday as that is when new posts go up. Have a great week and remember… your the best around!!!

MOVIE TRAILER:

15 Responses to “THE REASONS MOVIES RULE: THE KARATE KID”

  1. okay, so you managed to pic the ONLY two semi-hot pics of elizabeth shue…sorry, i’m just not a fan…and apparently i’m not the only one cause she was written out of the sequel!!

    • Yeah, but she’s so awesome that she got written INTO the Back to the Future sequels…. so there! 😛

      • Touche. And was she really written out of the sequel, or was her career just above it at that time?

        Nice walk down memory lane. Those Cobra Kai unis (I forget the formal name) are still pretty badass.

      • I do believe it is called a gui… not sure if I spelled it right!

      • Nah, Kim Bassinger was my eighties babe of choice… That scene in Wayne’s World II should explain why.

      • I thought you were going to go Cool World… haha. Actually, she’s probably not my #1 of the 80’s… that would probably go to Alyssa Milano or Christina Applegate. We just have an ongoing argument here at my house over whether or not Shue is hot!

  2. she was asleep on the porch the whole movie!!!…i hardly call that “written in.”

  3. Capturing a fly with my chopsticks is still one of the great challenge of my life. Great and funny list Kai!

  4. Yep – a classic of the 80s. Like so many of those 80s teen and sports and teen sports movies those soundtracks are so damn memorable. But for me what I always look forward to in Karate Kid is that finale and that final kick when the odds are stacked against Daniel-Son. It’s still like the first time I saw it every time I watch the film!

  5. You do great job bro…

  6. It really is a terrible movie, but I love it anyway.

    Cobra Kai surprisingly still holds up for me. Moreso than the rest of the characters or film. They are actually intimidating douche bags.

    I heart Mr. Miyagi though, and damn Elisabeth Shue. She makes me want to become and alcoholic and travel to Vegas.

  7. i really love this movie …♥♥♥…

Leave a Reply

