MOVIE NEWS: BATMAN 3

Okay… more gossip than news but fun none-the-less!

Lately, the ol’ intraweb is blowing up with rumors that JoGo is being tapped to play the Riddler in the next installment of Christopher Nolan’s Batman franchise. Seems legitimate considering they just filmed Inception together!

I know a lot of people have been hoping to see the Penguin in the next film but I think Catwoman and the Riddler make the most sense in the Nolan Batman universe… and I’ve been pulling hard for the latter (I was just having this discussion last night). Personally, I think Levitt would be great for the role…. what do you guys think???

24 Responses to “MOVIE NEWS: BATMAN 3”

  1. Editor In Chief Says:

    I think this could be really interesting, even with the Heath Ledger resemblance…Is it too late to add him to my “man crushes” list, cause he’s GREAT!!!

    p.s. I hope JoGo does not catch on!!

  2. I read about this too and am trying not to get too worked up. Feels like we finally stopped getting Batman rumours just last month.

    I’m curious to see how a character like The Riddler works in the world Nolan has created, and think JGL would be an inspired choice…

    …but still, before I get too giddy, I’ll wait on a confirmation or two.

    • Yeah… I normally don’t post this kind of stuff but I’ve been hearing this from more legitimate news sources and the fact that they just did a film together bodes well for it. I didn’t even think of him for Riddler but I really like the idea… best I’ve heard since Phillip Seymour Hoffman as Penguin… but I don’t think they’ll go that route!

  3. Bruce Wayne Says:

    I will crush all villians. It does not matter who they are.

  4. I think this is absolutely horrendous. I wanted Batman to fight Aliens and zombies, not a freaking Penguin!

  5. Oh My God is that Joseph Gordon Levitt? He really looks different. In fact, when I saw the pic I thought it was Heath Ledger so I agree with “Editor in chief” that the resemblance makes it interesting.
    That picture alone makes him look like a great cast for the ridller.

  6. I think that JoGo would be a fantastic choice for the Riddler. Not the top villain on my list, but I could easily see how it would probably turn out well for all sides.

    • See… JOGO is taking off… haha.
      Riddler’s not my favorite villain either but is my favorite for the Christopher Nolan style of storytelling… I think he’d translate well there!

  7. Levitt would be great for the role, however, if you really wanted somebody better, I’d have to say Johnny Depp, but they probably won’t be able to get him.

  8. I was holding out for Guy Pearce to play The Riddler.

    Everyone forgets about Memento.

  9. “the Joker suit needs to be retired!”

    say what?! batman loses meaning without the joker and where he treads other villains follow – even if the guy ends up in a reverse Lecter role the character’s presence should hang over Gotham and the descent into the abyss… but then the last film was far too long so maybe a ‘presence’ like Don Corleone’s haunting of Godfather II is what’s called for.

    The Riddler would be interesting but hopefully it will avoid just being Joker 2.0 .

    • Agree with the Joker 2.0 comment completely.
      I just had a conversation about this the other day… Batman is the Yin to Joker’s yang… his whole dynamic shines thru because of that character. I’m just saying that within the Nolan universe, unfortunately, the Joker is done… I say “retire” in the same sense as no Chicago Bull should wear the #23 again… you can go elsewhere and wear it… just not there, you know?
      Sad because if Ledger was still alive we’d get more Joker and Batman 3 would be one of the most anticipated films of all time.
      Also, just realized Cinemascream is not on the ol’ blogroll… I will correct that today, my friend! 🙂

      • I really think that the character needs to stay – plastic surgery and a upping of the tempo would suit the Nolan universe and the character brilliantly

        …re retiring the shirt – okay so Ledger was good and his death was sad but I felt it was building up to something rather than delivering the definitive article.

  10. sherlanova Says:

    Can’t wait, can’t wait, can’t waiiiiiiiiiit!

  11. You know I don’t want to see Catwoman yet. Besides the fact that I loved Julie Newmar and then Michelle Pfieffers mind blowing performance in Batman Returns, and then Halle Berry’s emaciated action star attempt, that character should be inconsequential right now, even though I love me a bad kitteh.

    The Riddler was always such a secondary character for me as well, but at the same time I can’t see myself getting geared for The Penguin just yet either.

    However this casting does seem to make sense if the rumors are true. I put my stock in Nolan anyway, and I think despite our rambling he’ll make the best choices.

  12. Some good suggestions. Wynter’s idea of “haunting” is a good one. The Riddler could work and Joseph Gordon Levitt is a good call to play him. And Heather, it is definitely time for a new Catwoman! I have a new Batman post going up myself soon so I won’t say too much so in the meantime those who haven’t seen it take a look at one from last year here

  13. Michael Emerson – Ben from TV’s “LOST” – should play the Riddler.
    Philip Seymour Hoffman should play the penguin.

  14. […] a film so bad the only good thing I can say about it is that it was better than Batman Forever. The latest gossip/rumours have Joseph Gordon Levitt playing him in the new […]

Leave a Reply

