JULY’S ULTIMATE FANBOY FILM COMPETITION

Napolean, you’re not alone anymore!!!

That’s right, my friends, there was a time when all the geeky things I have loved my entire life weren’t exactly popular to like. A little over a decade ago, Sci-Fi was for dorks, Fantasy was for D & D nerds & Comic Book films did little to capture the attention of the nation. My how things have changed… I like to think we can credit Weezer with this. After all, they did make Geek Chic.

In the past 10 years, that which was once made for the geeks of the world has been embraced by all people. Comic Book, Fantasy, Sci-Fi and Franchise films have single handedly kept the movie business from collapsing entirely. So, I began to wonder, of all the nerdy goodness available to us these days, which film stands out… which is the Geek Opus, if you will.

To find out, I’ve set up a March Madness bracket style tournament that includes the best there is to offer in Fanboy Films. In July, I will post them, head to head, every few days… and you the fan, will be able to vote for your favorites. By August, we will know what the people think is the ULTIMATE FANBOY FILM!!! But I need your help…

I have filled the bracket with films from the Genres mentioned above and have also included some classic Horror and few cult Comedies. I have THE LIST of films that will be competing below but also have 3 spots left to fill… I would love to hear what films you think should round out the roster. Please leave your suggestions in the comments section below… here ya go:

THE DARK KNIGHT
BATMAN BEGINS
X-MEN 1 & 2
SPIDERMAN 1 & 2
SIN CITY
300
BLADE
WATCHMEN
BATMAN (1989)
IRON MAN
SUPERMAN(1978)
KICK ASS
UNBREAKABLE
STAR WARS: A NEW HOPE
STAR WARS: THE EMPIRE STRIKES BACK
SERENITY
BLADERUNNER
BACK TO THE FUTURE
STAR TREK (2009)
STAR TREK 2: THE WRATH OF KHAN
TERMINATOR 1 & 2
THE MATRIX
DARK CITY
2001: A SPACE ODYSSEY
ALIEN
ALIENS
TRANSFORMERS
AVATAR
LORD OF THE RINGS 1, 2 & 3
WILLOW
CLASH OF THE TITANS (1981)
HARRY POTTER & THE PRISONER OF AZKABAN
HARRY POTTER & THE HALF-BLOOD PRINCE
A NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET (1984)
FRIDAY THE 13TH: PART 1
HELLRAISER
CHILD’S PLAY
HALLOWEEN
THE THING
DAWN OF THE DEAD (1978 & 2004)
NIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD (1968)
28 DAYS LATER
PREDATOR
ARMY OF DARKNESS
RESIDENT EVIL
THE LOST BOYS
SHAUN OF THE DEAD
OFFICE SPACE
GHOSTBUSTERS
CLERKS
FANBOYS
JURASSIC PARK
TREMORS
INDIANA JONES & THE LAST CRUSADE
RAIDERS OF THE LOST ARK

That’s it. Let me know what you think and…

STAY NERDY!!!

18 Responses to “JULY’S ULTIMATE FANBOY FILM COMPETITION”

  1. Instead of “Ridin’ Dirty” we’ll all be “Ridin’ Nerdy” I’m okay with that.

    You added Tremors. For this I just want to create an Idol to have you worshiped by the world.

    Possible additions could include:

    Equilibrium
    Drop Dead Fred
    Labyrinth
    12 Monkeys
    Total Recall
    Snatch
    Masters Of The Universe
    The Holy Grail

    and please please please consider PITCH BLACK as my number one pick leaps and bounds above the rest of these.

  2. Bruce Wayne Says:

    Mad Max. Brazil. Planet of the Apes (original). Tron. Clockwork Orange. Wargames. Primer.

    I can’t wait for the bracket. Sounds like fun. Don’t mess up the seeds; I don’t want to see the two best films in the same regional.

  3. Jingle Balls I FORGOT GALAXY QUEST!

  4. I think if you are gonna list some comedies, The Big Lebowski is a huge fanboy film. Not sure if talks about it one specific topic that fits in, but it just feels like a fanboy film to me.

  5. Looking forward to this fanboy tournament! It really comes down to how many fanboys flood your blog! You should advertise on some fanboys websites Kai 🙂

  6. thatoneguy Says:

    i totally agree with Labyrinth. i would say The Jerk, Strange Brew, The ‘Burbs, Top Secret, Real Genius, Spaceballs, Spies Like Us

  7. Demolition Man? Nope? Aww…

    And I’d put Superman II: The Richard Donner cut on the list as well (I actually think it’s the best Superman film… ever!)

  8. mcarteratthemovies Says:

    You forgot “The Big Lebowski,” which has spawned approximately 80,000 Lewbowski Fests across the U.S. I second Heather’s “Monty Python and the Holy Grail” — when you mention that to Python fans, they ruin perfectly good underwear.

  9. I don’t know that Lebowski or Python fit the parameters of this competition… DARREN… I actually meant Superman 2 soi good call!

    • Woot! And please let it be the Donner Cut. as much fun as terrorists on the Eiffel Tower can be, I’m a sucker for movies that actually make sense. And Marlon Brando.

  10. I know Shaun of the Dead is on here, but Hot Fuzz would be my suggestion as well.

Leave a Reply

