BREAKING NEWS: CAPTAIN AMERICA AND BATTLESHIP

WE INTERRUPT YOUR REGULARLY SCHEDULED LIST TO BRING YOU THIS BREAKING NEWS!

Nothing too groundbreaking here, nothing that will ruin the film for you, but I guess I should say: SPOILER WARNINGS FOR BOTH FILMS.

I wouldn’t exaclty call this “hot off the wire” but I was able to find out a few cool things about these upcoming movies last week due to a chance encounter with a telemarketer. These include general storylines and a possible major actor being confirmed for Battleship. I might be breaking a story here, folks! Allow me to explain…

I was sitting around last Saturday, watching Charlie Varrick, when I got a call from a telemarketer. Luckily for him, and me, the first words out of his mouth were, “Hi. I’m calling on behalf of the Motion Picture Industry. Would you be interested in taking a survey regarding some not yet released films.” Well, yes, I would. Essentially, he explained, his company was hired by the studios to gage the interest of people of varying age groups for some huge upcoming films.

I have to say that myself and the gentlemen asking the questions had a great time. We both laughed all the way through it. I can imagine that, for this guy, getting me (at random, mind you) to talk movies was like finding the golden ticket to meet Willy Wonka at the Chocolate Factory.

As you can imagine, I was very excited to talk some film. However, my excitement grew when I found out which films the survey revolved around. They were: Captain America: The First Avenger, Thor, The Avengers, The Green Lantern & Battleship (BTW… one of these things is not like the other).

Anyway, the survey started off pretty standard with him asking me my age and the age of all the people in my house. He asked me about each film saying (for instance), “What’s the first thing that pops in your head when you hear The Green Lantern [movie]?” That was followed by individual questions, on a 1 to 4 scale rating from “must see” to “not interested”, about each film. Finally, the coolest thing ever happened…

At that point he told me he was going to play some pre-recorded audio about each film and then come back on the line to ask some more questions. He played the first for me and it essentially sounded like a Don LaFontaine-esque trailer voice-over that essentially said what the film was about… THE ENTIRE STORY!!!

The first one he played me was for Captain America: The First Avenger. Now, I’m going to have to para-phrase here because I started running all over my house trying to find my tape recorder but couldn’t find it. Essentially, here’s what I got:

Captain America, a super-soldier, is sent in to stop Nazi forces that are steadily stomping their way across the continent (did not catch if it was U.S. or Europe though I imagine it’s Europe). While in the war, Captain America stumbles across a super secret underground science laboratory run by [**name ommitted due to horrible memory skills**]. This man captures Captain America and reveals himself to be the Red Skull. The Red Skull has also taken the super-soldier serum and, although it gave him super strength and speed, it has also had some side effects (like a giant Red Skull, I imagine). 

There’s also mention of a character and love interest named Peggy (Carter?). This part actually made me laugh. The voice-over guy said something to the effect of: Captain America never gets weak in the knees when it’s time for battle but shakes in his boots every time he comes in contact with the out spoken and attractive Peggy…” Too funny!

At that point, he asked me a few more questions to see if I was any more interested in the film. Then he played me another clip in the same style. This one was for Peter Berg’s upcoming movie Battleship. For those of you who have been following the development of this film like me, there’s nothing much to add as far as the storyline goes. Here’s what they said (para-phrasing again):

There’s a fleet of Battleships stationed deep in some ocean. Something odd appears on the ship’s monitors just over the horizon. The fleet, led by Jeremy Renner as Commander [so and so] of the U.S.S. Missouri, sets off to investigate. Upon reaching the destination, all of the ship’s equipment blacks out, leaving them dead in the water. At that moment, a fleet of alien ships zooms by over head.

It ended there, but I imagine a battle ensues. Not sure exactly why they acquired the rights to the boardgame before making this film. I don’t know what version of Battleship you all played as kids but mine didn’t have aliens. And the fact that this version does, makes it even more curious. I guess they assume the tie in to a beloved property will help ticket sales… likely. Or they plan to roll out a new version of the game to coincide with the film’s release… more likely. Either way, get ready for the new trend in films. Toy properties are doing so well that it’s board games time. I’ve heard a script for a “Ouija” horror movie is being written and Ridley Scott is developing a “Monopoly” movie as we speak. UGH!!!

But back to the survey. Now the interesting thing is this… for Captain America they merely said the film would star a few seasoned actors and a group of up and comers. No mention of Chris Evans in this recording. For Battleship, however, they actually named Jeremy Renner (hot off his Academy Award nominated performance in The Hurt Locker) as the star of this film. I’ve just checked IMDB where they have him listed as “rumored” for the lead. Which means THE LIST may have just broken a huge story. Remember, you heard it here first! 🙂

Unfortunately, at this point, the surveyor informed me we had reached our quota limit for questions so I did not get to hear plot details for Thor or Green Lantern. The call then ended. On the bright side though, I have a friend working in a shop where they are building the molds they will be using for Green Lantern’s ship in the film. He’s gonna snap some pictures and hopefully we can get those up around the time of the film’s release so stay tuned for that!

That’s it for now, Film Fanatics. Please feel free to leave your comments below. I never edit any of them. Remember, this was meant to be an interactive site, as much as I love the sound of my own voice.

You can also sign up to get this blog via e-mail at the top of the page. And, as always, if you like this site, TELL A FRIEND!

Check back Saturday as that is when new posts go up. I’m also going to try and keep the mid-week posts going in the future so stay tuned. Have a great week and remember… I sunk your Battleship!!!

6 Responses to “BREAKING NEWS: CAPTAIN AMERICA AND BATTLESHIP”

  1. I obviously can’t read this but it seems like a great post LOL!

  2. That sounds pretty cool. At least the Captain America bit is better than the “he’s an entertainer” line we’ve been following.

  3. Editor in Chief Says:

    why does “monopoly, the movie” sound like jumanji, only not as cool…

    p.s. lovin’ the battleship box, every woman knows her place is in the kitchen!!!

  4. Nice one in the LAMB listing there. Saw you on the site earlier today… “OMG I TOTALLY READ THAT SITE!!!” I think you need an ‘About’ page so we can post comments like this though 🙂

    Enjoy the elevated hits that the LAMB will hopefully bring.

    Rock on!

Leave a Reply

