EDITOR’S CHOICE

We here at THE LIST would like to take this opportunity to honor a member of our staff… my wife and editor: Shirley Rae Parker.

Shirley is the one who checks all of the posts, even when she doesn’t want to, for spelling errors and checks grammar to make sure like Yoda I do not sound. She also convinces me not to write about Star Wars every week. Which I guarantee you I could!

So, in honor of all her hard work, I’ve given her an opportunity to write a list of her own. Here are 3 of her “GO-TO” movies (in no particular order)!  Enjoy:

SHIRLEY:

1. PARENTHOOD.

Growing up, we had an extensive video library. True, they were mostly VHS tapes full of free HBO weekends and Lifetime Original movies (I had to fight the urge not to put Deliberate Stranger on my list!!). Parenthood was the little gem sandwiched between two forgettable films. I would watch this movie religiously. I suppose the cast is what originally drew me to the movie. I wasn’t unlike any other child of the 90’s, obsessed with all things Keanu Reeves and River Pheonix (River’s ex, Martha Plimpton, and his brother Joaquin co-star).  It wasn’t until I became a parent that I truly appreciated this movie for what it is.  A dysfunctional family, not unlike my own, in all it’s honesty. All to the tune of a Randy Newman soundtrack. Brilliant!!

 2. WELCOME TO THE DOLLHOUSE.

It’s hard not to love a movie about a girl nicknamed “Weinerdog”!!   Dawn’s akward, she’s ugly, her parent’s have threatened to tear down her “Special People” clubhouse, her sister has been abducted by a child predator, and I’m pretty sure it implies that she sprained her finger while doing things to her naughty parts.  All the makings of a great coming of age film!

Favorite quote: You think you’re hot shit but you’re really just cold diarrhea!

1. MERMAIDS.

Voice-Over + Early Winona = Awesome!!!

I would like  to use this opportunity to write a letter to Michael Schoeffling:

Dear Jake Ryan, I mean, Michael,

What fueled your departure from Hollywood circa 1991? Is the hand-crafted furniture business in northeastern Pennsylvania really that lucrative? You really only gave us three good movies! I mean, do you really want to leave us with “Wild Hearts Can’t Be Broken”?  I will miss you, and will forever be a fan!!

Love,

Shirley

That’s it, Desperate Housewives. Please feel free to leave your comments below. I never edit any of the comments. Remember, this was meant to be an interactive site, as much as I love the sound of my own voice.

You can also sign up to get this blog via e-mail at the top of the page. And, as always, if you like this site, TELL A FRIEND!

Check back next Saturday as that is when new posts go up. I’m also going to try and get some mid-week posts going in the future so stay tuned. Have a great week and remember… Happy wife, happy life!!!

18 Responses to “EDITOR’S CHOICE”

  1. I’m not sure what’s hotter… my wife… or my wife rockin’ a Battlestar Gallactica t-shirt… hmmm???

  2. Yaya! Nicely done Shirley.

  3. Paragraph Film Reviews Says:

    Absolutely amazing shout in Welcome to the Dollhouse. That’s one of the best comedies out there (and Happiness – 1998 – Todd Solondz too)

    • Happiness is like The Fall out here… hard to find… on my radar though!

      • Happiness and the Fall should both be purchasable on Amazon? The Fall is currently £3.98 and Happiness £4.09. DOUBLE BARGAIN.

        Also, is everyone with a film blog really a “geeky movie buff dork fag”?!?!?!

        If it’s really true I’m unsubscribing!! 😛

  4. Kai, you misspelled guarantee. Shirley was obviously tied up with her fabulous post to see it. BTW– Good call on WTTDollhouse. Our favorite!!! Love you for listing it!!!

  5. hey everybody . . . .Welcome to the doll house is absolutely incredible. ANother movie by the same guy that is even better is called “Happiness” it is my favorite all time movie!!! Watch “Happiness”

    Thanks EVeryone . . and lets get Kai a real paying gig as a blogger, forward his new post to all the geeky movie buff dork fags that you are friends with!!!

    STay Cool !

  6. He means “geeky movie buff dork fag” in a nice way! 🙂

  7. stop writing your blog Kai. let your wife do it.

  8. Nicolett Says:

    Well, finally! Behind every man is an exhausted and exasperated woman! Thank goodness you found such a beautiful and talented one to be the mother of my granchildren! Good blog guys! Mom

Leave a Reply

