A LOOK BACK AT OSCAR 2010

All right, so my review on my favorite awards ceremony is a little late but my family needed me so CUT ME SOME SLACK! Phew! Better…

So, we here at THE LIST were a little off on our picks but, then again, we also don’t have ESP. I was glad to see The Hurt Locker take home the top prize, as I felt it was most deserving. And it’s about time a woman was recognized for directing. Should’ve made those picks. Ultimately, THE LIST went 6 for 10 giving us a big fat D-. Proving once again why this should be your one stop shop for tips on Oscar pools everywhere! 🙂

Anyways, the ceremony came and went and, overall, I thought it was very entertaining. I’d go so far as to say it was one of the best I’d seen in years. Obviously, everyone, excluding the short-subject winners, read my post on KEYS TO A GREAT OSCAR SPEECH so no need to rehash that one. What I would like to discuss is what they got right, what they got wrong and what left me a little mixed. Here we go:

WHAT WORKED:

STEVE & ALEC.

I know some of my fellow bloggers (*cough**Castor!**cough*) weren’t a fan of the night’s humor but it totally worked for me. In fact, as much as I love Neil Patrick Harris, I could’ve done without the opening dance number and had it replaced with five more minutes of making fun of people in the room. Steve Martin especially impressed me. While he did a great job some years back on his own, he clearly shined having someone to riff off of!

BEN STILLER FOR COSTUME DESIGN.

“I want to plug my tail into your Dragon.” Dear God… I lost it. Sometimes Stiller is good when he’s trying to be funny (Tropic Thunder, Zoolander, Tom Cruise impressions). Still, he’s best when he just sits back and reacts, which is exactly what he did here… Flawless!

TINA FEY & ROBERT DOWNEY, Jr.

Can we just put these two in charge of Hollywood… PLEASE!!!

SCREENPLAY & SOUND MIXING.

The technical categories can be a little boring but seeing how they work can make it very interesting. Putting the words on page up against the scenes that were shot is fantastic and seeing what sound mixing and editing really is was fascinating… especially when it’s for a movie like The Dark Knight. My only question is why did 2 people introduce Morgan Freeman who then introduced the piece? Why not just get Morgan Freeman???

WHAT DIDN’T WORK:

ROGER CORMAN.

Don’t get me wrong on this one… I love that the Academy saw fit to recognize Roger Corman for his body of work, but a Governor’s award??? He clearly should’ve received a lifetime achievement Oscar and been given the opportunity to speak. Half the established actors in that room came out of his camp, after all (Howard, Hopper, Nicholson, Fonda). I mean, come on. We praise the indie revolution of the 90’s… this guy was doing it when it wasn’t popular, or profitable, and pushing the people he mentored on to bigger and better things. Praise the man, I say!

JOHN HUGHES TRIBUTE.

Again, don’t get me wrong. John Hughes has a very special place in my heart. I think he is one of the most honest, humorous and genuine voices in the history of cinema. Especially with regard to something we can all relate to… adolescense. Still, “In Memorium” is a special part of the show where all should be honored equal (though we all know we really care more for some than others, like a Heath Ledger versus some MGM Executive from the 50’s). It’s just a thing called manners and I wasn’t a fan of this. I believe they did the same thing a few years back for Gregory Peck… yet, oddly, did not for Kubrick when he passed. WTFrack?

SPAM & EGGS.

Okay, so, this wasn’t actually part of the ceremony but, at one point about half way through, there was a Spam commercial encouraging people to try Spam & Eggs. My mouth needed a Silkwood shower!!! I’ll stick to bacon.

LEGION OF EXTRAORDINARY DANCERS.

Here’s an idea: Don’t let the nominees for Best Song perform. Instead, let’s put on a big, unnecessary dance number where some white guy does “The Robot” to “Theme from Avatar”. Genius!!! I don’t know if ABC was trying to promote “So, You Think You Can Dance” or what, but this was just stupid!

WHAT LEFT ME STUMPED:

BEST ACTOR PRESENTERS.

I liked the Best Picture presenters being people associated with people’s other films (i.e. Keanu Reeves, who was in Bigelow’s Point Break, presenting Thr Hurt Locker). They tried to do the same thing when presenting Best Actor. Problem was, it just took too damn long. I’d really like to see this attemted again but pick up the picante… pick up the Pace!

HORROR TRIBUTE.

FINALLY!!! Horror gets some love. Honestly, The Exorcist will probably be the only horror flick ever recognized by the academy. Especially with the direction modern horror cinema is taking. So, it was nice to see some respect payed to the most profitable and popular genre out there… HOWEVER, having the cast of Twilight introduce the montage is an insult to horror-philes everywhere. The only thing scary about Twilight is how friggin’ popular it is. On top of that, here are some of the films featured in the montage: Beetlejuice, Young Frankenstein, Sleepy Hollow, Marathon Man, Little Shop of Horrors, Interview With A Vampire… ARE THESE EVEN HORROR FILMS??? No Rob Zombie, Romero, Argento, More Stephen King??? Oi Vey!!!

RICK O’BARRY.

It’s great that The Cove won because it deserved to. However, to honor a man and then cut away from him when he holds up a sign with a number to support his cause, and play music before he gets a chance to speak, is just plain uncool!

That’s it, Supermen & Wonder Women. Feel free to comment below and add your thoughts. I never edit any of the comments… unless you send me Spam (not the kind you eat with eggs…EEEWWWW!!!). I hate Spam! Both kinds! But, hell, I even let some of those through. Remember, this was meant to be an interactive site, as much as I love the sound of my own voice.

You can also sign up to get this blog via e-mail at the top of the page. And, as always, if you like this site, TELL A FRIEND!

Check back next Saturday as that is when new posts go up. I’m also going to try and get some mid-week posts going in the future so stay tuned. Have a great week and don’t let the door hit you on the way out!!!

12 Responses to “A LOOK BACK AT OSCAR 2010”

  1. sh1tbird Says:

    How much do the statues weigh? Bigelow looks like she’s trying to curl a couple hundred pounds.

  2. You might be the only person I’ve heard mention that they liked Baldwin and Martin’s job of hosting. That was so strange to watch, since I like them both very much individually, but they felt like they were running everything as if it was still dress rehearsal.

    This show was such an overall mess, and that was especially disappointing in a year where there were so few surprises award-wise…it needed to be a good show to keep us entertained!

    One last thing…what was with Tom Hanks coming out at the end and just ripping the envelope open without re-reading the list of nominees? Seemed amazingly anti-climactic.

  3. Look at the size of these guns!!!

  4. Yes, lovely they did a horror tribute, but Marathon Man?!?? I mean come on! I wonder if they would have even shown a clip of Leprechaun had Ms. Aniston not been in it. It was about what I would expect from an Academy Award horror tribute. Roger Corman getting the Governor’s award was awesome, but the clip from the award presentation they showed was lame and then just having him stand up while they clapped, terrible! Instead of that cheesy modern dance thingy they could have had a 2 minute montage of all of Corman’s films and actually had him on stage.

    I think my personal favourite funny moment of the evening was Steve Martin’s Meryl Streep/Nazi memorabilia joke. Although also found the Martin/Baldwin Paranormal Activity thing amusing.

  5. Ben Stiller definitely deserved best costume lol that was very unique and funny what he did

    • GOREGIRL: I’m glad somebody is with me on the Roger Corman thing. Paranormal thing got me excited… wasn’t that funny but it’s good to see a nod to a good ol’ fashion low budget horror flick. Also, the Streep Hitler thing was great, but the payoff was when Stiller came out, dressed as a Na’Vi and said something like: Was going to wear the SS outfit from Inglorious but the show already seemed a little Hitler heavy. Classic!!!
      HATTER: What can I say? I liked the 2 hosts! I suppose it’s not to hard to do better than Hugh Jackman… course I was delirious from days and nights spent in a hospital when I watched, and I get gitty for the Oscars anyway, so maybe my views are skewed. And the Tom Hanks thing has happened before… I think it has something to do with time!
      SH1TBIRD: The Oscar is 13.5 inches tall and weighs 8.5 pounds… just like my… 🙂

  6. I’m not sure I share the host love. With the ceremony seemingly in need of a good trim, I think they need to sacrifice the comedian hosts and go for a showman style host, like with hugh Jackman last year. Someone who can get the job done rather than being expected to be consistently funny. I think Neil Patrick Harris could do it in a few years. let him get even more established for a while first.

    • Yes I agree with Darren. Maybe they should also trim out some of the technical categories, give the awards outside the telecast. Seriously, the ceremony takes way, way too long and not much of anything is happening to boot.

      • That’s what I said in my Oscar Speech post… some of that stuff is going to get shoved to the special ceremony the week before… I’m not a fan of a lot of musical numbers though and am not sure that would help with the time issues. I love Neil Patrick Harris’ and think he would be a great host but his song didn’t impress me. I’m a fan of one musical number, that must be funny and riff on the nominees, at the beginning of the show!

  7. Also, Kai, your movie soundtrack finally got posted yesterday. Wasn’t sure which one to pick, hope that’s the right one 😉

  8. mcarteratthemovies Says:

    I like Steve Martin and Alec Baldwin but I didn’t think they did well together. Some of their back-and-forths were painfully UNfunny, I thought, as was Ben Stiller’s overdone “Avatar” gag.

    Overall I found this year’s ceremony to be boring and predictable, with the only highlights being the acceptance speeches of Mo’Nique, Waltz and Bullock (even though I didn’t want her to win, her speech was funny and self-deprecating).

  9. Mo’nique and Bullock were great! I agree Bullock’s was more of a life time achievement and a weak field. I guess I’mm alone on liking the hosts but I think you’re alone on the Stiller skit… LOVED IT!!!
    Ultimately, with regards to the hosts, maybe it was because I was sleep deprived and watching (on a 15″ TV) after spending all day in the ICU.

Leave a Reply

