MY LIFE IN MOVIES

This post is the latest brain child of, friend of THE LIST, Andy Hart over at FANDANGO GROOVERS MOVIE BLOG. I must say that he has quite good ideas when he organizes these MEMEs and has not disappointed today. The premise is simple:

Pick your favorite movie from every year of your life. It seems somewhat a fitting time as well considering I just celebrated my 33rd birthday this week.

I don’t plan on getting into too much detail on these. I’m just gonna list them off. I should say however that this might be the toughest list I’ve ever done. Some years were gimmes but others were very difficult. I could easily see this list changing over the years. But, for now, it is what it is. So, without further, uh, dew… here is MY LIFE IN MOVIES:

1978 – DAWN OF THE DEAD.

1979 – MAD MAX.

1980 – THE EMPIRE STRIKES BACK.

1981 – RAIDERS OF THE LOST ARK.

1982 – THE THING.

1983 – NATIONAL LAMPOON’S VACATION.

1984 – GHOSTBUSTERS.

1985 – BACK TO THE FUTURE.

1986 – ALIENS.

1987 – SPACEBALLS.

1988 – DIE HARD.

1989 – BATMAN.

1990 – TREMORS.

1991 – BOYZ N THE HOOD.

1992 – RESERVOIR DOGS.

1993 – JURASSIC PARK.

1994 – PULP FICTION.

1995 – TOY STORY.

1996 – SWINGERS.

1997 – AUSTIN POWERS: INTERNATIONAL MAN OF MYSTERY.

1998 – DARK CITY.

1999 – TIE: FIGHT CLUB & THE MATRIX.

2000 – UNBREAKABLE.

2001 – MEMENTO.

2002 – SIGNS.

2003 – OLDBOY.

 

2004 – SHAUN OF THE DEAD.

2005 – BATMAN BEGINS.

2006 – THE PRESTIGE.

2007 – 300.

2008 – THE DARK KNIGHT.

2009 – STAR TREK.

2010 – SCOTT PILGRIM vs. THE WORLD.

See everyone participating in this post by CLICKING HERE!!!

20 Responses to “MY LIFE IN MOVIES”

  1. Crap, you put just as much Christopher Nolan in your list as me! I see we do indeed have some cross-overs. Nice choices!

  2. Bruce Wayne Says:

    This isn’t easy. My birth year – 1967. Bonnie and Clyde, In the Heat of the Night, Jungle Book, The Graduate, In Cold Blood. All great movies, but I would have to choose Cool Hand Luke. 43 more years to go!

  3. Wow there are some awesome films on that list! I struggled with Fight Club vs The Matrix too. I’m loving how many people picked Toy Story as well :)

  4. I think Pulp Fiction is one of the most popular picks, Jurassic Park is getting a lot of love too. Thanks for taking part.

  5. Bruce Wayne Says:

    What? You didn’t pick Roadhouse?

    • That was my thinking as well.

      Not gonna lie, I tried watching Swingers the other night for the first time. I only made it half way through. Just not my type of movie.

      The rest of this list is solid, though.

      • I couldn’t pick Road House over Batman. I just couldn’t do it.
        @Red: You might be just a tad too young to enjoy everything Swingers is. I still think it’s a funny film but that is extrapolated by growing up that sub-culture.

  6. Man, Kai, you’re old. For your birthday I’m going to have to start sending you a walker, piece by piece. First, the wheels… you know, just because. Then I’ll work my way upward. :)

    Nice list. Shame you didn’t slide in with Field of Dreams, that way in conjunction with Signs I could label your list the “Honorable Cornfield Union of America List of the Year”

  7. It’s like you watch you growing up, becoming a nerdy smartass movie buff. Love the list.

    • Haha – awesome comment, Jess!

      No wonder I like you, Kai – you picked a bunch of the same ones as me! Not a stinker in the bunch!

  8. Nice list of films there, lots of cross overs to mine too…Great job

    Love that National Lampoons is on there!

  9. A list so peculiarly Kai! It’s like I know you from a past life or something ahah ;)

  10. Ah, “Boyz n the Hood”. Such a great film. So meaningful. Even for a white kid from central Iowa like me. Also nice to see some love for “Signs” which I think doesn’t get the overall respect it deserves. Very unique list and the second one I’ve seen “Oldboy” on which I haven’t seen and which makes me feel like such a fool.

  11. I basically love all of these movies! Hell yeah Dark City!

  12. Hmm do you happen to like Christopher Nolan? :D Though I won’t argue, I love his work and consider him one of the greatest directors around.

    That being said, some really nice movies here. Very glad to see Indie get some love with Raiders. Just can’t leave him out. He’s an icon of the 80’s.

    Also definitely love that Vacation is on there. Christmas Vacation is my favorite, but Vacation is a close second. I basically love all of Clark Griswald’s adventures.

  13. I tried to doing the same thing, but it was just tooooo much work. But I did get enough done to say this: I love SPACEBALLS as much as the next person, but in a year with ROBOCOP and THE RUNNING MAN, I can’t support that as the tops of 87. I just can’t. Take THAT, your opinion!

  14. mcarteratthemovies Says:

    Way to go, giving some love to “Boyz in the Hood”! That’s a great coming-of-age film that not enough people have seen or remember.

    And how did I know “The Dark Knight” would show up on here…

  15. Well Kai, I know we have never personally met but I’m pretty sure I could have written this for you and come up with exactly the same films:P

    The only ones I didn’t expect were Boyz In the Hood and Swingers. But besides that, I am now pretty upset I didn’t have Signs on my list. You win this one my friend!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

